“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Archive for April 26, 2011

For the love of words #8

It’s quotes like this that make me adore Mr. Ray Bradbury so much:

“Bees do have a smell, you know, and if they don’t they should, for their feet are dusted with spices from a million flowers.” ~from the introduction to Dandelion Wine.

Today I walked my kids into school and it was windy. It was the kind of wind that tries to steal homework or likes to make your own hair whip your face. It was the kind of wind that wraps itself around you and makes you wonder if it could, just this once, pick you up. When I slammed the door to my car and took a breath I could smell the wind on my skin and my hair. And then I thought of those bees.  What is in the wind? What flowers? What spices? What is it that flavors the oxygen so much? It always smells the same me. I could smell it on me in Idaho this past month. It reminded me of motorcycle rides in Utah in my college days. Today, in the middle of a bustling city, it splashed its scent on me in just a one minute walk. Anywho, I’m sure Mr. Bradbury is right, and I think the bees probably smell like Wind.

****photo found on google images.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.