“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

What have I become?

Is my life really so mundane that I have to complain about laundry and paperwork?  Will I rise above it all?  Can all this mothering business be done easily, joyfully and without drama?  This week we bought a new fridge because our other one fizzled out on us.  So, we buy a new one right? But I really love the new one.  I mean, I never thought I would be like this with an appliance.  Why? Why am I like this?  I’m a mom, a wife, a maker of a home but that doesn’t mean I have to be like this.  I’m so confused right now.

7 responses

  1. Vickey

    You guys are great photographers, and very entertaining writers.

    I know what you mean about getting excited over appliances. What’s a homemaker to do?

    Enjoy the new fridge and wait with baited breath for the next appliance to break so you can get excited about the next new addition.

    March 6, 2008 at 5:50 am

  2. Lisa

    La… What have we become??? Old farts. That’s what.

    I am having a great time reading your blog! I sure miss those crazy college days!

    March 6, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  3. Wendy

    I was thinking the same thing the other day–does anyone even care that I’m addicted to q-tips? Get over yourself, Wendy! But for what it’s worth, I was glad to know I’m not the only one who never gets on top of laundry and paper. (I also am never on top of dishes.)

    Just yesterday I was experiencing some internal drama kind of about the same thing–why am I like this? I try to raise my kids, I cook and clean–so why do my kids sass me and no one eats what I make and my house is always messy?? This is my JOB, and I seem to totally suck at it. Seriously. If I had a boss, I would most certainly be fired. Sheesh. That’s a bit depressing.

    Sorry–kind of heavy for a blog comment. I LOVE reading your blog and I think you are amazing. AWESOME, even.

    Post photos of the new fridge!

    March 6, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  4. El Jefe

    Apparently, “Stan’s” slacking on his job, “Wanda”–he should’ve canned you long ago. Just kidding.

    March 10, 2008 at 4:46 am

  5. Wendy

    The bribes must be working!

    March 11, 2008 at 4:36 pm

  6. Liz

    I’m so glad YOU guys have a blog! They’re so fun! I know what you mean about this… I don’t know who I’ve become… last year for Christmas I was THRILLED when I received a Dyson and a particular pan… what the heck?!?!

    April 16, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  7. You can’t fight it La! It’s like trying to insist we aren’t going to turn out like our parents… Too Late!!! It is sad to watch everything you thought was important go up in smoke when you start having a family. But the good news is, everything you thought was important really wasn’t important!!! What a cute fam you have. I asked Sarah where to find you and she pointed this way. I’ll be checking in now and then:)

    Happy Spring:)

    April 23, 2008 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

