“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Quirks, an exercise in sharing, and other nonsense…

Blogging is a funny thing. I find myself having these inner battles. On one side is my “inner blogging voice” that often turns on when I have a funny or strange experience. On the other side is a part of my conscience (oh yeah, my Ego) that says “do you really want to share that with just about ANYBODY?” Seriously, do I want you rummaging through my underwear drawer? No.

bureau1

So why would I share personal stuff with you on the internet? The battle steps in. What to share? What not to share? Do people really need to know my quirks? On the other hand I’m not going to pretend I don’t have any. At what point will others say “Geez, La, that was waaaay to much information!”

But then I was thinking of this experience awhile ago. When I was a newlywed my hubby and I house-sat/kid-sat for a family that happened to be pretty well-off. They had a beautiful house. I remember I got home from school (I was teaching high school back then) and nobody was home yet. So, I did what any other nosy person would do, I walked through the entire house to see what it was like. It was a huge house and really not necessary for me to be in ALL parts of the house, but hey, I have no excuse but curiosity. The house was immaculate. It almost made me sick. “How does she do it?” I wondered. The mother was not only a stay at home mom but also very active in her church and community.

donnareed

I tip-toed through through the bedrooms and hallways, awestruck. Then, after passing through the game room, I randomly opened a closet door. And there it was. It was awesome. It was jam packed with stuff. It was COMPLETELY disorganized. I loved it. I went to another closet, similar scenario. I breathed a sigh of relief. Why, you may ask? Why would I love that? Because I felt better. She wasn’t perfect. She was normal.

I feel that way when I read others’ blogs. People open their closets and they make me laugh or cry or whatever, and it’s good. But, I’ve been holding back lately.

So, here’s an exercise in opening up just a little.

These are my quirks. It ain’t my underwear drawer by no means, but it could be my medicine cabinet, or some other disorganized section of my house. So here goes:

1. I don’t like feet. They gross me out. I don’t want anyone’s feet to touch me and I don’t want to touch anyone’s feet. I respect anyone who is willing to give another person, including me, a foot rub.

2. On the other hand, one of my favorite parts of a baby is their feet, especially if they’re chubby.

3. I don’t like raisins in cookies or breads. I like raisins alone but don’t put them in the cookies or bread.

4. When I go running or exercise, I MUST brush my teeth before doing so. It must happen.

5. I am extremely “flinchy” if there is anything near my face. I need to protect my teeth (a long, tragic tale) and my eyes (a short, happy tale).

6. Ever since I had children, I became a bit of a “germaphobe.” I didn’t realize this until I was at the park and my friend laughed at me for wiping the baby swing with a baby wipe. I have since tried to chill.

7. I still wish I could have been a dancer on Solid Gold.

8. When waking me from sleep, do not tap me. I repeat, Do not tap me.

9. In fact, if I’m asleep, just don’t touch me.

10. I appreciate phones and the conveniences they bring to our lives, but I hate the phone (this is where Chunk #1 would say “Mom, we don’t say ‘hate’!” but it’s OK because I’m not talking about a person or delicious food that I spent a good portion of my day preparing for you to eat).

11. My husband and I are probably the last people on earth to not own a cell phone. People think we are weird. I might say we’re just nostalgic.

12. I hate the look of black leather. It looks like an eighties bachelor pad. I do, however, like the look of brownish black leather. Now that’s classy. Why? I DON’T KNOW.

13. I used to hate the look of white cars, unless it was a Pinto Station Wagon.

14.  I discovered this last quirk after I had kids: When I am eating a meal, I do NOT want to be tapped, leaned on, rubbed up against, or touched in any way.  As my husband says “Mommy’s like a dog, don’t touch her when she’s eating.”  I don’t know why, but at mealtimes, I need my space.  Don’t touch me, or I’ll bite your head off…like a dog.

Ok, so I’m done and I just reread all that. These things really aren’t that strange. Strange is not wearing deodorant. I don’t. I hardly need it. Strange is having a personal rule of not answering the phone before 9:00 am. Strange is not liking to reuse dish towels too much and ending up with 5 or 6 of them in the hamper by the end of the day. Strange is this post. Oh, I guess #12 and #14 are probably pretty strange, too.

Why do I care? These things are not that big of a deal. Like I said, it’s an exercise in sharing. There! I bust it out. I’m not looking back. I will click the “Publish” button. I’ll get over it…

Don’t judge me!

9 responses

  1. awesome 🙂

    November 20, 2008 at 7:53 pm

  2. Ann

    You always know just what to say–Mike and I did the same thing when house-sitting. Love the quirks.

    November 21, 2008 at 2:19 am

  3. This is my favorite blog you’ve ever written. Laura Archibald, you rock.

    November 21, 2008 at 2:24 pm

  4. Vickey

    You make me laugh! Thanks for letting us peek into your messy closets. I am curious to know who’s house you were in. 🙂
    Glad you are back into the blogosphere. You always bring a smile to my face.
    By the way, I will send you my new contact information, but don’t worry too much about getting those tapes back to me. I haven’t missed them and didn’t even know you had them, so just file them in the circular filing cabinet if you know what I mean.

    November 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  5. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    I love you.

    I also love #10. I WISH I didn’t need deodorant. I assume Jefe uses your allotment, since he’s related to me.

    Also, regarding #7–at Eden’s Parent/Teacher conference yesterday, her teacher informed me that SHE IS ONE OF THE CLASS’S SOLID GOLD DANCERS. True story. The classes dance every morning, and Eden and one of her friends always get to go to the front because they energize everbody else.

    Solid gold, baby. That’s my girl.

    November 21, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  6. Lindsay

    I love your writing Laura, you’re great at it! And you did a great job writing the primary program! Congrats on it’s success. However, I think I’m pretty much checking out for the year though, sorry. : )

    November 23, 2008 at 11:29 pm

  7. Amy

    La, this post is publishing worthy, or worthy of publishing. One of you correct me, please I love you, La! Miss you!

    November 23, 2008 at 11:41 pm

  8. I love this one

    11. My husband and I are probably the last people on earth to not own a cell phone. People think we are weird. I might say we’re just nostalgic.

    I’m very jealous. They just get in the way of what you are doing.

    KK if you want to or are able here is the link to the concert!

    http://www.hardrockhotel.com/las-vegas/concerts/detail.cfm?id=2751

    and here are the CD’s!

    https://www.yousendit.com/download/TTZtNU1LZy9VVGxFQlE9PQ

    https://www.yousendit.com/download/TTZtQmthbEpkMnV4dnc9PQ

    ~Carynskipoo

    November 27, 2008 at 11:31 pm

  9. p.s. that movie is called Tin Man. it’s made for tv and sort of for children. i only watched the first disc (it is a 2 disc series).

    November 27, 2008 at 11:44 pm

Leave a Reply

