“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Gonna get all sappy and stuff…

So in honor of Thanksgiving….

I just want to make a short list this year of a few of things I’m thankful for.

#1 – This man. El Jefe. He. Is. Awesome.

n10_9943

I know this may come as a surprise to many of you, but I’m not the easiest person to live with. Yes, shocking. Stand in awe of the man who puts up with me. Do it, just stand there, in awe. Wait, he doesn’t just “put up with me”, he loves me. Talents include: making me laugh on a daily basis, giving the best hugs in the world (No exaggeration, I did a study. I defy anyone to show me a better hugger), being patient, and belonging to two important clubs: The Nicest Boy in America Club and Greatest Dad on Earth Club. Prestigious and very hard to join. I’m so thankful for this man. Every now and then I look at him and think “Whoa! We’re married, we have kids, a house, and we’re grown-ups” it freaks me out (yes ala Talking Heads song) but I’m so glad I get to do it all with El Jefe.

#2 – Chunk #1. He is my little super hero.

n10_9944

n10_9902

It’s such a privilege to be this boy’s mommy. Every day he tells me he loves me. Out of the blue I hear in a sighing voice “Mommy, I just love you.” Talents include: Melting my heart, cheering up his sister, wanting everyone to be happy, reading very well for his age, and dancing like an 80’s rockstar. I also love his curiosity. He wants to know everything. Then, when I can tell him the answers to stuff, he asks, “How did you know that?” Me, “Because I”m smart.” Him, “No you’re not.” Great.

#3- Chunk #2. So sassy, so sweet.

n10_9934

n10_9879

Since Chunk #1 started school, Chunk #2 and I have more girl time. I love it. She reminds me of all things pretty, dainty, precious, and soooo cute. She reminds me that dresses are good and fairy wings are even better. Talents include: lighting up all rooms into which she walks, loving her brother, being a great hugger (yes, like her dad), having an extensive vocabulary (seriously, she picks up everything she hears), making us laugh, also dancing like an 80’s rock star. One of my favorite sounds in the world is this girl calling to me in the mornings from her bedroom. “Maaaah-meeeeee!” When I come in she tells me about her dream with a dinosaur, or snake, or hippo, or whatever. If I don’t come in I will soon hear the sound of her feet coming down the hall to see where I am. She is such a doll. She can be a robot doll, too, if you like.

There is my Thankful List. My little family. I love them. I don’t tell them enough. So, this afternoon, as we took advantage of the great light flooding our family room and took some pictures, I thought of all the reasons I love these guys.

Here are a few more pictures. This photo shoot is called “We Are Models” (say it with German accent).

n10_9886

n10_9901

n10_9985

2 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    Great photos!

    And I can totally hear C1 saying, out of the blue, “I love you, Mommy.”

    And I can totally hear C2 saying stuff also, but it’s generally via Rainbow (with several “meow-meow”s thrown in).

    I am so happy you’re married to El Jefe. Just between you and me, some of the girlfriends he brought home through the years were WE-IRd. And when he brought you home for the first time, we thought, “She’s just weird enough, but not TOO weird.” You fit perfectly!

    Love you–

    Wendy

    December 1, 2008 at 7:39 am

  2. Lisa

    I love the sappy stuff. It is a lot easier to read other people’s sap than to write it. I also love the “we are models” with the German accent comment. La, you really should blog more because you are so creative and funny. And I can totally see you saying all that stuff…

    December 1, 2008 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

