“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

“I’m sorry that I got fat, I’m sorry that I got fat, I’m sorry that I got fat, I will slim down.” Wesley Willis, 1996

It’s pride. That’s all it is.

Pride has prevented me from posting pictures of myself from the Jordanelle Triathlon.

I’m still a chubby bunny and I don’t want to be.

So, I’m going to copy the Walt Disney Corporation way of doing things and post these for “a limited time only”. Afterwards, they will go “back into The Vault”. The next time I post pictures of me doing a Tri (Sat. May 9th 2009, The Aflac Iron Girl at Lake Las Vegas, come do it with me!), I will be less chubby.

Please excuse my pride for making such a big deal out of it. I know you who love me don’t care.

With that said, here’s how the Triathlon went:

Unfortunately, El Jefe couldn’t be close to the water so there are no pictures of the swimming portion. There were just too many people, and that was the transition area as well. So, here is my description without a picture: I had a hard time putting my face in the water for the first couple hundred meters because it was too cold and it really took my breath away. Also, as much as I love swimming, and was once practically a fish (as my mommy would say) I have a hard time putting my face in LAKE water. It freaks me out. I have a very active imagination. I tend to think of things like in Harry Potter, where he has to cross a lake with zombies in it, and the scene in “Lost” where there are dead bodies from the plane crash deep in the pond where Kate and Sawyer are swimming…..anyway, I’m just afraid I’ll see something green and creepy and slimy… and dead. I guess I prefer the chlorinated pool of my childhood. So, it took a bit of time before I could swim with my face down. I rotated my strokes. Sometimes I did the back stroke, sometimes I did the breast stroke, but mostly, I did the freestyle. The water was perfect after a while but I was thoroughly grateful to reach the end.

Next up was the bicycle portion. Yes, I used a Mountain Bike (I know, “amateur”) and was thoroughly beaten by anyone I may have passed in the water (which was very few to begin with, but, whatever). I still enjoyed it. Here’s me on my way out:

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

Here’s me on my way back in:

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

Just so you know El Jefe has a longer zoom than this, but I prefer the wide angle.

Then on to the running portion. I think that was the hardest part of the whole thing. You get off your bike and you start using a completely new set of muscles. Meanwhile your other muscles are tired and so your body is all shaky and wondering what the heck you are doing. I was a bit wobbly for the first half mile. For two seconds I thought, “what if I just stopped?” and then another part of my brain stomped on that idea quickly. If I had to walk, then I would walk. I would finish it (cue the Rocky Music…now shout “Rudy! Rudy! Rudy!”). After about a mile, I had a rhythm going and then I was fine.

El Jefe likes this shot because it looks like I’m being followed by the ambulance— just in case.

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

The fun thing about a triathlon (or maybe it was just this one) is that everyone just encourages each other. It was not uncommon, as I was being passed by someone, to hear some sort of words of praise or encouragement . This next picture is of a man I found very inspirational. He didn’t say a word to me as he passed. He just gave a friendly wave as he slowly trotted by. Then I looked at his calves. They write your age and your event on the back of your calves (i.e. I had an “S” for Sprint and “32”). He had an “O” for Olympic, the much longer event, and a “68”. Awesome. I was happy when I saw that El Jefe happened to get a shot of him.

68yrold

Here are my babies, waiting for mommy:

babieswaiting1

Coming ’round the bend!

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

The last stretch. Yea!

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

The finish line. I was seriously so happy, I was ready to cry. I didn’t, I just felt like it.

(sorry, this picture has been sent back to the VAULT)

It was an awesome experience. I recommend it to anyone. Seriously.

4 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been waiting for it. Because, seriously, if I ever finish a triathlon I’ll be so proud of myself people will get sick of hearing me talk about it (dropped into casual conversation–“That is a great sweater. It reminds me of the color of the sky on the day of my triathlon . . .”). So–YAY for YOU! You totally rock. And I think you look nice and fit, Wesley Willis be hanged.

    (I just had to go back and correct the spelling on all my “triathlon”s. Don’t tell anyone, though.)

    December 14, 2008 at 11:00 pm

  2. Amy

    hey cracka, ewes lookin good, I think. Esp. since I can’t run down the street, much less something official, you’ve got my hands in the air.

    December 15, 2008 at 12:43 am

  3. Lisa

    La, you are awesome. I am with ya on the slimey lake water thing. Ew. And I am so glad I could check out these photos before they become hidden in the vault forever.

    December 15, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  4. Ty

    Please bring up the Wesley Willis album for Christmas…

    Rock over London, rock over Chicago…

    Ty

    December 21, 2008 at 9:05 pm

Leave a Reply

