“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Have you ever?

Today is a lazy day. Chunk #1 woke up with a cough that wouldn’t quit. It’s cloudy out and I just feel like cuddling up with a blankie and watching movies. Chores shmores.  So rather than doing what I should be doing, I’m killing time on the laptop. I saw this list on our cousin Ann’s blog and decided to swipe it.

Have you ever…
1. Started your own blog
2. Slept under the stars
3. Played in a band
(ok, orchestra, does that count?)
4. Visited Hawaii
5. Watched a meteor shower
6. Lived in a foreign country
7. Been to Disneyland
8. Climbed a mountain
(of course, do you know who my father is?!)
9. Held a praying mantis (never gonna happen either)
10. Sang a solo
11. Bungee jumped
12. Visited Paris
13. Watched a lightning storm at sea (Closest thing would be a lightning storm over the Rio Parana in Argentina…it’s a very wide river…I know, doesn’t count)
14. Taught yourself an art from scratch
15. Adopted a child (no, but I’ll have an adopted nephew real soon)
16. Had food poisoning (thankfully, no)
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty as far as you can go now (I’ve been there, but it was too crowded to climb to the top)
18. Grown your own vegetables (I helped my mom grow beets once, does that count?)
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France
20. Slept on an overnight train (El Jefe and I want to do this one day)
21. Had a pillow fight
22. Hitch hiked (no but my MOM did!)
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill (uh, not as an adult, heh heh)
24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb (no but I’m sure my hubby’s family has plenty of times)
26. Gone skinny dipping
27. Run a Triathlon
(that originally said Marathon. I’ll probably never run a marathon so I had to brag about something)
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice (How about the ones in Vegas? I haven’t ridden one of those either)
29. Seen a total eclipse (…of the heart, “turn around bright eyes” )
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset (yes, and yes)
31. Hit a home run (I’d like to think that I have but I think I am living vicariously through my childhood friend ,Nikki, who was awesome at softball)
32. Been on a cruise (I don’t know if this will ever happen)
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person (and mentally relived the scene in Superman)
34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors (uh, the vicinity)
35. Seen an Amish community (slept on a Mennonite farm, too!)
36. Taught yourself a new language (Taught myself? I don’t know about that. Took lots and lots of classes and finally lived in a foreign country)
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing (it can be addicting)
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David
41. Sung karaoke (and got first place! I won’t say how many competitors there were)
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt
43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant
44. Visited Africa
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight (romaaaantic)
46. Been transported in an ambulance
47. Had your portrait painted (only because that was one of my jobs in college)
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling (scuba diving lasted two seconds. I got really panicky)
52. Kissed in the rain (smoochy woochy)
53. Played in the mud
54. Gone to a drive-in theater
55. Been in a movie or on a TV show
56. Visited the Great Wall of China
57. Started a business
58. Had an encounter with a wild animal

59. Visited Russia
60. Served at a soup kitchen
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies (no but I’ve loved buying them)
62. Gone whale watching
63. Got flowers for no reason
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma
65. Gone sky diving (no but my brother did and I will just live vicariously through that)
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp
67. Bounced a check
68. Flown in a helicopter (my brother-in-law Greg could say yes to this and #46 since it was an all in one thing)
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial
71. Eaten Caviar
72. Pieced a quilt (of course! Do you know who my mom-in-law is?!)
73. Stood in Times Square
74. Toured the Everglades
75. Been fired from a job
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London (no, but I saw the Changing of the Guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and that was cool)
77. Broken a bone (lucky me)
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person
(I was very little and don’t remember it. Which is ridiculous since I live so close. I want to hike it one day)
80. Published a book (no, but it’s a dream)
81. Visited the Vatican
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had your picture in the newspaper (I was, like, 3 and I’m holding a big ol’ peach from my family’s orchard…a novelty in the desert)
85. Read the entire Bible (I believe I sincerely attempted this once. I stopped after Genesis, chapter 1. I was 11 years old)
86. Visited the White House (only the outside)
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating
88. Had chickenpox
89. Saved someone’s life.
90. Sat on a jury
91. Met someone famous
92. Joined a book club
93. Lost a loved one
94. Had a baby

95. Seen the Alamo in person (nor have I seen the basement)
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake (so fun, cause you’re extra “floaty”)
97. Been involved in a law suit
98. Owned a cell phone (yup, crazy, I know)
99. Taken a martial arts class
100. Been stung by a bee

This list tells me I need to do some more traveling to some significant places.

So, where should we go first? Paris, Hawaii, or China?

2 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    I love that you turn around, bright eyes–and take romaaantic walks on the beach.

    Wendy

    February 6, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  2. Lindsay

    HILARIOUS! Love your reenactment, but I’m sure you were being nice. You do a great job dealing with all the fires, keep up! We love you!

    February 16, 2009 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

