“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

“He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother”

I took these pictures while at a family reunion in Lake Tahoe last summer. We hiked down Emerald Bay and hung around “Vikingshom”. It was a hot day. The water of Lake Tahoe was frigid beyond all get out. The nieces and nephews had a great time on the beach while us old folks relaxed on picnic benches in the shade of the trees. I don’t know how my family feels about me when I get up all in their grill with the camera, but I l just love our moments together. These are my oldest brothers. Don’t each of them have such a friendly face?

tahoe-bart-1-0064

tahoe-tracy-0066

Same shots, different development ( I couldn’t decide which was best):

tahoe-bart-0064

tahoe-tracy-1-0066

Since I brought up Vikingshom, here are some shots.

Can you imagine living here?

vikingshom-0135

And then having this in your front yard?

vikingshom-0133

Except, when the rich heiress who built the house lived here, she didn’t have to look at the orange and white floaties.  Just sayin’.

2 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    Our marching band played that song–“He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother”–when I was a junior and Sam was a senior. We got a lot of mileage out of it.

    Fun pictures. Love hearing from you!

    Wendy

    February 13, 2009 at 7:08 am

  2. Madeline

    Awww! I love my Padre!! That trip was so much fun! I also forgot to ask you… we all need to get together and show our backpacking trip photos. I love reminising(??) about that last night.

    February 16, 2009 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

