“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

The Valentine Lady and other things…

“Valentine’s Day is for amateurs.”

I don’t remember exactly where I heard that quote, but I thought it was funny.  The guy saying it was some kind of Smooth Operator and didn’t need a holiday to prove his love.  On some level I’m sure I agree, we should show our love everyday.  But still, Valentine’s Day is fun.

When El Jefe and I first celebrated V-Day as husband and wife, I remember thinking “I should make it special.”  I declared that week as “Love Week” and then wrote a song to the tune of “Love Boat.”  I think I tried to have something special for each day of the week.  I wish I kept the song somewhere but I bet you can at least figure out the first line: “Love Week! It’s Love Week!….”  I don’t know what El Jefe thought of it.  He certainly laughed … at me, with me, who knows.

Well, now I’m a mommy and Valentine’s is a bit different.  Chunk #1 had his first Valentine party at school.  I watched him with his Lightening McQueen cards,  deciding who gets what card and why.  As he wrote out his classmates’ names I remembered my grade school days of choosing the right card with the right message for the right person.  I certainly wouldn’t want the same debacle that Lisa Simpson faced when shchoo1e gave Ralph Wiggum the “I choo, choo, choose you” card. No , no.

Of course, Chunk #1 isn’t at that level of awareness  (or egotism for that matter).  He had just a few requirements of his own.  His closest friends had to have the card (and tattoo) with Lightening McQueen on it, while the girls had to have the card (and tattoos) with Sally on it.  The name had to be written perfectly centered inside the heart that said “To:”.   It had to be written with a red pen.  And of course, Mrs. S had to have the biggest one.

The Party was a smashing success.  Uh, but unfortunately, I didn’t bring my camera.

But, here are some pictures from Valentine’s DAY.

For breakfast, we had “french toast de l’amour”:

dsc04241

This little valentine just loved the  heart shaped strawberries.  I believe the direct quote would be “aaaawwwwwww”.

dsc04243

Later that day, the Valentine Lady came.  The Valentine Lady is a long standing tradition from my side of the family.  She leaves Valentines and treats, and even sometimes gifts, at the doors of deserving young children…and even grown men.  Chunk #1 would like to catch her, but this year he was napping when she happened to leave something for him and #2 at our front and back door.

dsc04250

dsc04249

Nothing says “I love you” like chocolate.

The next night we had our red and pink dinner (so, I guess it was “Love Weekend”!).  Yes, that is a heart-shaped meatloaf standing before you.

dsc04257

If you’re wondering how I made those mashed potatoes look like cotton candy, the secret is beet juice.  Beet juice also gives gravy a nice rosy color (and no, you can’t taste the beets).  As far as the actual beets go, I thought they might be more palatable to the Chunks if they were cut into little hearts.  No, they weren’t.  But El Jefe loved them, given his history with the country of Denmark.

Here’s a dirty trick, I had Chunk #2 believing for two seconds that the potatoes were cotton candy. Looking back,  that wasn’t very nice of me.  A three-year-old’s dream come true would be cotton candy for dinner.  No, sorry dear, just potatoes…

5 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    What a fun “Love Week”. I especially love those pics of the kids with their stuff from the Valentine Lady.

    Wendy

    February 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

  2. Julie

    First off, I love beets. I love their color, I love my hands being dyed by their juice and I love them on my salad with some ranch dressing and some sunflower seeds. Oddly enough I don’t like pickled beets. I like pickles and I like beets but put them together and somehow those likes cancel each other out. I also love you La. The meat loaf in a heart was a little play-doh-ish for me but I love the whole fun of it. Your kids will love these coo-koo memories forever. Like the time my mom made tomato jello (huh? it’s true) and we told my brother it was strawberry and then it all went downhill from there. Too bad we live so stinky far away. And I totally heard your voice singing the Love Boat in my head. I’m sure it was awesome. I don’t know what has sparked this sudden proliferation (as in not paper being cut–can I use it like that?) but keep it up. Miss you girl!

    February 16, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  3. mamacheetah

    Yeah, the meatloaf probably doesn’t LOOK appetizing, but really, when does meatloaf every look pretty?

    February 17, 2009 at 10:38 am

  4. I’m laughing til I’m crying here. I love the concept of the Valentine lady. Hmmm, I wonder how I can get her to visit my house next year? 🙂 And the cotton candy mashed potatoes are uproariously funny. No worries here. That’s a trick I’d definitely try with my kiddos, too.

    Blog on!

    February 28, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  5. Pingback: U Make Me :), Will U B Mine? « Rad

Leave a Reply

