“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

What my mother felt

Tonight Chunk #1 was seriously not happy with me. He wanted to go to Golden Spoon. He wanted to play games on pbskids.com. He wanted to go with Daddy. Unfortunately, the answer to each was “No.”

“I don’t love you mommy!”
“That’s too bad, cause I love you.”
“I’m not going to love you forever and ever.”
“Well I’ll love you forever and ever.”
“No you won’t. You don’t love me!”
And then I said it, something my mother often said to me: “I went down in the Valley of the Shadow of Death to bring you forth. Don’t tell me I don’t love you.”
I walked away thinking how often I heard her say that. But now I know, what she really wanted to say was:
“It was a painful experience bringing you into this world you little…
Because of that I love you and I will always love you. Now shut your face! I LOVE YOU!!!”
I think that’s what she really meant.

7 responses

  1. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    Thanks for the laugh. It’s nice to know my kids aren’t the only ones who don’t love their mom all the time. Of course, they haven’t fired me in awhile, either, so I guess things are looking up.

    Aren’t they?

    Wendy

    March 13, 2009 at 10:08 am

  2. Julie

    Oh brother! I had one of those moments when I was telling Chloe to pick up some stuff and she told me it wasn’t hers. I said, “I didn’t ask you whose it was, I just said to pick it up!” how many times did my mom say that one? I love you La! Wait, you said no to PBS.com AND the Golden Spoon (restaruant?)?! Never mind, I take my love away. You are a meanie. πŸ™‚

    March 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm

  3. Haha! Aw how cute. πŸ™‚ Jonah loves your guts. He’s a momma’s boy if I’ve EVER seen one. πŸ™‚ I love you, Laura. You are a great friend. Probably one of the best I’ve ever had. Thanks for being awesome. πŸ™‚

    March 13, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  4. Lindsay

    Man I love your blog Laura! It’s so true. Sometimes I just want to yell at the kids, “Right now I love you because I have to love you”. Keep up the great writing.

    March 16, 2009 at 8:27 am

  5. Liz

    this is so true! I love it, we just take it one day at a time and hope that tomorrow will be better… πŸ™‚

    March 20, 2009 at 5:22 pm

  6. this is poetry.

    March 22, 2009 at 6:31 pm

  7. anitanap

    Laughing out loud. I don’t know who you are, but that was a seriously classic mother moment.

    Can I say that to my 4 year old? Yeah, she’s pretty smart. I think she’d get it…
    (the first, nicer version, of course.)

    March 25, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

