“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

9 years ago tonight…

I went on my first date with this hunka hunka burnin’ love…

love-machine dsc02550

We doubled with some friends and went to Cafe Rio.  El Jefe and I shared a chicken burrito, enchilada style. We went to a movie. He asked if it would be all right if he could hold my hand. Later on we went swimming in an indoor pool (after all it was March, in Utah, brrrrr). How brave was I to go swimming on the first date. My how things have changed.

About two years later he asked me to marry him on the 3rd anniversary of my return from Argentina. I said “Yes!” Everyone around us said “Finally!”

Two kids, one huge house project later, and here we are!

1025-j-d-spin

dsc01016

Chunk #1 is Amazed.

1028-l-and-dad

dsc01084

Chunk #2 is in awe.

dsc04225

El Jefe is suspicious.

(When I took this suspicious picture, I thought, “I wonder how many pictures I’ve taken of El Jefe in the driver’s seat?” Then El Jefe said out loud “I wonder how many pictures you’ve taken of me like this?” So I thought it was only fitting to attach this particular one.)

Happy 9th anniversary of our first date, Boy Sweetie.

5 responses

  1. Julie

    Yes, quite brave going swimming on a first date but then again I know what your body looked like so you were all good.

    I miss you girl! What if you could tell the story of your marriage through a book of pictures full of “sneaky” eye?

    Referencing Cafe Rio made me sad and also sentimental. I’m glad I got to share some of your past. 🙂

    March 26, 2009 at 7:43 am

  2. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    Aw. That’s so sweet. I love that first picture, too.

    Also, can I just say that marrying you is one of the smartest things my brother has ever done? For sure.

    Wendy

    March 26, 2009 at 8:31 am

  3. Greg

    I’ll second Wendy’s observation – nice job, Jeff! Thanks for enduring the in-laws, Laura.

    March 26, 2009 at 1:01 pm

  4. Ty

    He gets his good looks from his brothers. We’re glad you took him off our hands, Laura

    March 27, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  5. mamacheetah

    Julie, not to rub it in or anything, but we now have Cafe Rio in Vegas (in fact guess what we had for dinner in celebration?) Would you like me to get some, box it up for you, and send it to the Great Snowy North? I’ll throw in some twinkies, too, not because you can’t get those, but just for old time’s sake.

    Wendy, Greg, and Ty, thanks for the kudos. It’s no secret that I also married El Jefe so I could be a part of such an awesome family.

    March 28, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

