“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

My mom is so beautiful, she could’ve been an air hostess in the 50’s…

mom twa1 My mother is an amazing woman.  Not only was she an air hostess in the 50’s, but she was an LDS missionary in the Tongan islands.  Later, she married an incredible man and had ten kids.  She often says she is grateful to my father for letting her have ten kids.  It used to bother me when she would say that.  He “let” you?  You should be able to have as many kids as you want.  It never occurred to me that most men would say “enough already!”  Thankfully he didn’t say that since I am, after all,  number ten. She now has 5 daughters-in-law, 5 sons-in-law, and 44 grandkids with 2 on the way.  All of us owe so much to this singular woman.   She is our rock.  “She is more precious than rubies: and all the things thou canst desire are not to be compared unto her.”  (Proverbs 3:15)

When she had this picture taken, did she have any idea what lay before her?  That she would soon meet the love of her life?  That she would get a brief adventure in Japan?  That she would soon have five children in the space of five years (or something close to it) and then five more?  That she would demonstrate the utmost patience while raising 9 children in a three bedroom house until the dream house was finished? Did she know what a wonderful kingdom she would build?  Did she know how many people she would influence and who, in turn,  would have incredible respect for her?

No, she had no idea.  And I think she still likes to downplay her place in this world.  But while those of you who know her, reflect on what a wonderful woman she, just look at that beautiful face.

7 responses

  1. Masom

    Well said, La, well said!

    June 1, 2009 at 12:02 am

  2. Chelsea

    That was such a beautiful post! All of that is very true…

    June 1, 2009 at 8:17 am

  3. earwaxtasteslikecrayons

    What a great tribute to your mom. I love that picture.

    June 1, 2009 at 8:56 am

  4. Julie

    That is such an awesome picture! You should use it as an inspiration and take shots of your siblings like this. With all your skills I bet you could recreate the lighting and “feel” of it. Then you could put all your faces on a giant airplane and print it like as a giant wall mural. Just ideas here.

    June 1, 2009 at 10:06 am

  5. Lauren

    I loved that! I am so lucky to be related to all of you!! Love you!

    June 1, 2009 at 5:29 pm

  6. So true, so true. She’s a wonderful woman and a great example to us all.

    June 4, 2009 at 4:35 pm

  7. I’ll never forget your mom’s kindness when I’d come over during lunch my freshman year at Chap and mooch food. Or when I wanted to hang out with Amy one summer day, but she HAD to help your mom can fruit. I told her I’d help out. I was totally excited to learn how! Your mom looked at me like I was nuts for about a minute and then put me to work. She always welcomed me in your home and I’ve learned so much from her over the years. Plus she’s a saint to raise 10 kids.

    July 12, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

