“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Guest blogger Chunk #1!

Up picture Chunk#1!!!!!!!

I  went to “UP” with my family. It was fun. We had a great time. We ate popcorn and drank Sprite.

I liked the collar on the dog that could talk. You could hear what the dog said. It was funny.

I didn’t like where the guy was going to kill the other guy. It was a little scary.

Chunk #2 didn’t like the part where his house was floating up (editorial note: there were some parts that were a little intense for younger kids–Chunk #2 especially–in fact, the rating was PG for “peril”.  You can imagine there were many potential scenes with a floating house where people could have fallen, etc. Chunk #2 didn’t like this and was crying in certain scenes). “My um, uh, scary part of that movie was when their house was floating up with lots and lots of balloons. Was it okay, dad? Was it okay?”

“My favorite part of the day was the dog collar with a red thing that would speak.”

Funny parts (Chunk #1): “The part where the bird named Kevin swallowed the old man’s cane.”

“I don’t want to say anything else.” –Chunk #1

So, the experiment in reviewing a movie with guest blogger fell on its face just a little bit–of course, we should have known this when he tired out while typing the first sentence (he insisted on doing everything himself). And, when it comes right down to it, the kids didn’t have much to say about the movie, but they liked it very much. Mom and Dad enjoyed the movie immensely–it WAS intense in some scenes, it was moving in others, and the storyline was very unexpected (that being said, can you ever really guess from a Pixar trailer what the movie is going to be like? I remember distinctly NOT wanting to go see “Cars”, but once having seen it, liking it just as much or more than the other Pixar movies).

Mamacheetah says: “Hilarious. I want to make my own ‘adventure book’ now.”

So….that’s about it from us. Don’t know if this review is helpful in any way, but you should see the movie. Maybe even wait until it hits the dollar movie (next summer?)–we’re finding that it’s not really possible for a family of four to see a movie and eat popcorn and a soda on a budget….



4 responses

  1. Chelsea

    Cute. I am glad to hear it was good– I need to go see it!!! I love when movies come out that all ages can go see…

    June 17, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  2. Wendy

    I’ve been meaning to comment for a week . . .

    I love the guest blogger feature; you should do it again. I can’t wait to see this movie. I can’t wait to see you and your family, either!

    June 22, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  3. We loved “Up” too. GReat movie, with a heart.

    PS: My son, Garrett, recently was a my blog post guest (drum roll) — we got grass!

    June 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm

  4. Kim Hardy

    I thought this was the cutest movie made in a LOOOOONG time. Glad you liked it.

    June 26, 2009 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

