“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Heroes and Villains

Tomorrow is the 7th anniversary of when El Jefe and I started building our own little kingdom.  Yes, it’s true.  Seven Years.

1-J and L beach

The seventh year always seemed like a big year. Perhaps it’s all the mystique that surrounds the number seven, but whenever I  heard someone say they were celebrating their seventh anniversary I always thought, “Wow, that’s a long time.”  I never thought that with the sixth anniversary.  Tell me you’re celebrating your sixth and I’ll say, “Congratulations” and think you’re still getting to know each other.  Tell me you’re celebrating your eighth, and I’ll say “Congratulations” and think you’re old pros.  So, the seventh year is the transition year I suppose.

Tomorrow, I officially lose my status as a newlywed.

That’s right.  We have been newlyweds with two kids (it’s my blog, I can say what I want).  We are on to a new phase of our marriage……what is it?  I don’t know, I’ll come up with it later.

Throughout these seven years we’ve seen the good and the bad.  We know each others’ strengths and weaknesses.  Having kids brought out new qualities that not only surprised each other but ourselves, too.

cowboy boots

 tricycle

Just for fun, early in our marriage, we started coming up with Super Hero names for each other.    As our kids came along, we came up with some Super Hero names for them, too.  The final ones that stuck are as follows:

El Jefe = Captain Sarcastic

La= Demando

Chunk #1 = Spastic Fantastic

Chunk #2 = The Screech

We think we’re cute and funny, but awhile back I realized what we were doing.  These aren’t Hero names.  These are Villain names (insert dramatic music here). We’ve been highlighting our negative qualities .   El Jefe is good with a zinger.  Apparently, I can be pretty demanding.  Chunk #1 every now and then just freaks out on us (admittedly, “Spastic Fantastic” could have a positive twist but most of the time, it doesn’t).  Chunk #2’s voice can hit just the right decibel when she wants to.  There you have it. Bad family relationships 101 = highlight the negatives.

So, it’s been 7 years, and we are on to a new era. It is the era of the Heroes!  Yes, there it is, the next phase of our marriage……something….about….heroes?  I don’t know, I’m still focusing on how we’re no longer newlyweds.

I’d like to introduce some new hero names:

El Jefe = Mr. Moxie

La = Au Naturel

Chunk #1 = The Super Snuggler

Chunk #2 = Gigglicious

I don’t need to explain these….but I think I need to change mine.  It sounds dirty.

Anywhooooooo,  I don’t know if these will stick.  Just trying them on for size, but you get the idea: Accentuate the Positive.

This message brought to you by the A-Team

3-family wrestlers

2 responses

  1. Wendy

    Love the new names! Good for you and congratulations on the big 7.

    Love,
    Wendy

    June 29, 2009 at 3:01 pm

  2. Chelsea

    awesome. Im excited to see you guys this week! yay for family reunions.

    June 29, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

