“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Archive for July 17, 2009

Clean refrigerators and giving birth.

(I started this post a month ago and am finally getting around to posting)

Two weeks ago (so, you know, make it about a month and a half ago)  I got a phone call from my sister just after I had cleaned the shelves in my refrigerator.  I started our conversation in excitement:  “You know what the best thing in the world is?  A clean refrigerator!”  But then I stopped myself before committing myself to such a RIDICULATION.  Seriously, my life needs some re-evaluation if a clean fridge is really the best feeling in the world.  My sister agreed.

A couple mornings later I was hustling through my house, trying to get my children and myself out the door because my dear friend was in labor and I was hurrying to be by her side.  I opened the fridge to grab a quick breakfast and remembered that conversation with my Big Sis.  No, a clean fridge is NOT the best feeling in the world.  It’s good, but we’ll leave it there in the “good” category.  That morning, I was about to experience something infinitely better and more important.  I was on my way to support one of my best friends in the world (since childhood) as she was about to have her 5th child.  What an honor and a privilege.hands

This friend is a strong woman.  I admire her in every way.  I especially admired her through labor.  Excuse me for getting personal, but both times I had children I was very loud.  Can ‘t help it, I just am.  I watched as she quietly turned into herself, searching for strength, finding whatever it was that would keep her going.  She turned to us, too.  I was there, shoulder to shoulder with her sister.  Again, I felt privileged.

feet

As we supported her during each contraction, we swayed with her, we rubbed her back, she leaned on us.  We told her she could do it.  We told her she was doing a great job.  Sometimes we stood by her, sometimes she rested on her bed.  When we stood, I looked down.  There were our feet, together, with our painted toenails. One pair needing support, two pair giving it.  I loved the image.  This is sisterhood.  This is friendship.

(Now go get yourself the book “The Red Tent” so it’s funny to you when I say “Somebody get me a Red Tent.”)

Photographers’s note:  How I would have loved to capture the image of all three of our pairs of feet while my dear friend was in labor.  But I did not have the right lens.  How funny would it have been to my friend if I said, “Hang on, I know your in pain right now but let me just go get my lens out of my camera bag so I can juuuuuust get this reaaaaaalllllly great shot.”  Yes, I know, not very funny.

So, in my head I still see all six of our footsies, but I also just adore this one of Terresa’s feet with the edge of Nikki’s dress.