“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Bear Lake: Chapter 3: part A (?)

The 4th of July was a big day for the Foutz Clan.

The most important event was the big celebration– not of our nations birth, no no, of our family’s beginnings.  Since we would all be together we figured it was a great day to celebrate our parents 50th anniversary (which actually occurs in August but why don’t you try and get ten brothers and sisters, their spouses, and their children all in one location on the same day more than once a year.  Yes, you get my point).

This day became extra special because on the way to our reunion, my parents got into a car crash, and, quite frankly, we are happy that they are still on this earth with us.  My father had a nice cut on his hand from it going through the windshield.  My mother had a wicked bruise on her face and a fractured sternum.  Dad was sore in his sternum but Mom pretty much got the brunt of it.  We love airbags.  Yes we do.   The car they were driving is no longer with us (R.I.P. Goldie), but my parents are in one piece and it is a miracle for which we are all thankful.

They spent most of the week with my brother and his wife (angels) and then headed up for the par-tay on Saturday.

_N106896

If you are wondering why they are seated so far a part, it is because once we got them to their seats, there was no way they were moving.  They were quite cheery in spite of the events earlier in the week.

My sister who organized the event (props to her) asked each of us to bring a special item that represented a memory of our parents.

_N106926

I brought the big set of scriptures that you see before you (underneath the gold “50” centerpiece).  I will not bore you with all the details of my message, but the summary is: A) My parents gave us a solid foundation in the Gospel of Jesus Christ,  B)  They were always a “United Front” when it came to teaching us, and C) if you have a quiet sister who is very angelic, do not trust her….never trust the quiet ones.

Those all relate.  I promise.

At the end of the eating and talking and partying, my niece presented a gift to my parents.  It was from all of us, but really, Lauren did all the work.  And you know, it is a really good gift when you make Mom/Grandma cry.  Good job everyone!

_N106941

_N106942

Lauren took on the assignment to make a book for my parents with pictures and a dedication from each family unit.  The book is beautiful and thank you so much to Lauren for doing all the layouts and getting it all organized (If interested, see  Heritage Makers.  No, I’m not one of their representatives, I genuinely love the book).

Words cannot express how grateful I am for my parents.  Words are especially hard to come by at 1:06 am.  Instead please relish this picture from their wedding day.

wedding-necklace

p.s.  See those lovely pearls which my father so lovingly places on my mother’s neck?  I got to wear those on MY wedding day…in case you were curious…


4 responses

  1. I love the photo of your parents. Your mom is so beautiful, and your dad so handsome. I wore my mom’s pearls on my wedding day too. Congrats to your parents. I always loved coming to your house and being around them. Such wonderful people, with such a Christ-centered life.

    July 31, 2009 at 9:48 am

  2. Lauren

    love is! too bad I look gross in that picture!

    July 31, 2009 at 6:55 pm

  3. mamacheetah

    Thanks Anna Banana!

    Lauren, you’re not allowed to talk about my niece like that.

    August 3, 2009 at 12:23 am

  4. Wendy

    Now I want to hear the story about the quiet sister . . .

    Congratulations to your parents. What a wonderful thing.

    August 3, 2009 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

