“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Good Morning Sunshine!

I would like to interrupt my travel logs with a special announcement:

sunset

This is a picture of a Sunset .  Not a Sunrise (this is not the announcement, just wait).

Why does that matter?  Well, Guess what?  I don’t have a picture of the sun rising because I rarely see it  and if I do, I just don’t want to.  Actually, I take that back, I do have some pictures of the sunrise. During the summers in high school I would sleep with my drapes open.  My room faced the East, so, when the sun would rise I could take a look, and, if it was beautiful, snap a picture. Then I  would close the drapes and return to the cozy blankets of my beloved bed.  I’m sure I have those pictures stashed away somewhere.  I won’t find those until I complete #32 on The List.

Where was I?

Yes, the morning… and my announcement.

Ready?

I wish to become a Morning Person.

Not only do I wish to become a Morning Person, but I am determined to do this before the end of the month (and before I turn 34 as it is also on The List).

I am dedicating the month of August to (cue the trumpets): “Become a Morning Person Month.”

Would you like to join me?

Now, I’m not just talking about waking up early.  I am talking about loving the morning!  Embracing the day!  Waking up and saying…. whatever it is that morning people say!

I will use this month to figure out the best way to wake up.

I’ve even taken an informal survey asking for suggestions. So far I’ve been told to go to bed early (and I suppose those same people would say “exercise and eat right” if you asked them how to lose weight). My friend Sarah mentioned putting your shoes on first thing in the morning.  Pheonix said to just take a walk or go for a run. I read somewhere about playing your favorite music that puts you in a good mood.  I have many suggestions and will try them all.  Most everyone says “Good luck with that.”

I am going to find the best routine for the morning.  I will experiment and report back to you.  If I have helped one person, just one person, besides myself, I know that my mission is not in vain.

And please, if you have any secrets to loving the morning, do tell.

Why am I doing this? Because: “Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I want to be enthusiastic about my day.  I want my children to feel that way too.

Wish me luck as it is now 12:11 am.

2 responses

  1. Wendy

    Good luck!

    Seriously, I applaud you. I, myself, am waiting for school to start before I become a morning person.

    August 3, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  2. Lauren

    I read emerson’s quote once and I loved it! Thanks for posting it!

    August 3, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

