“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Bear Lake: Chapter 3 Part C

I just HAD to show my wicked bruise from tubing.  Unfortunately, El Jefe’s battery died in the middle of our water sports.  This is sad indeed because I cannot show you  the punishment I endured behind my brother’s boat.  We hooked up the hot dog and the inner tube.  It was my sister Amy, my brother Guy, and me.  Guy carries two helmets in his boat for events like this.  He put one on, then gave Amy the other one.  Excuse me?!  First of all what are you planning on doing that would merit a helmet?  Second of all, why don’t I get one?

(This is because I’m the youngest isn’t it?)  (Jerks.)

In my family you don’t just ride the inner tube or hot dog.  No, there must be some sort of challenge involved.  Which is fine.  I’m up for the challenge.  It’s just that I’m getting up in years and my trips on the boat are more spread out.  So we jumped from hot dog to inner tube and back and forth.  If I wasn’t fast enough, Guy would pick me up by the life jacket and throw me where he wanted me to go.  At one point, while alone on the inner tube I was charging back into the hot dog but taking some pretty wicked waves in the mean time.  I smacked hard against the water but hung on for dear life, yes for “dear life”.   Finally, somebody flew off (Was it I?  I don’t remember)  I sat on the hot dog and then looked at where my leg (just above my knee) smacked the water.  It wasn’t just bruised, my veins were raised up on my skin.  I showed Amy, the physical therapist.  “Those look like varicose veins.”  I’ve never had varicose veins.  I told her what happened and this is what she described.

“Your wet suit is tight enough that your circulation is low.  So when you hit the water the blood just pooled up in your veins right there.”

POOLED?!  Sick.  I don’ t like that description.  Blood, pooling up in my veins.  I couldn’t even touch it (yes my own leg).

I spent the rest of the ride (when we had breaks) pulling at my wetsuit so it wasn’t so tight and lifting my leg up so the pooling blood would move on.  Move on pooling blood!  Sick.

By the end of the day the veins had gone down and I just had a nice purple and blue bruise.

Here is a picture of it two days later:

_N107118-2

4 responses

  1. Sick.

    Love,

    El Jefe

    August 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm

  2. Julie

    Yuck La. But props on not having any real varicosas. That’s what we call them. We were driving to the LA airport the other day and there was this lady on the corner and my mom goes, “Does that girl have lots of veins or tattoos on her legs?!” And me in my smart alec-ness said, “Both Mom. She has tattoos of varicose veins.” he he. In other news, your leg looks fantastic and “muscley”. It will be so weird for your kids when they grow up to know that you are the baby in your family. Love you girl!

    August 6, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  3. mamacheetah

    Julie,

    When you tell me stories like that, I miss you and your smart alec-ness.

    Love you!

    August 8, 2009 at 4:04 pm

  4. Wendy

    Um, ow.

    August 13, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

