“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Beware the ceiling fan.

Yesterday I ran into a ceiling fan.

How does one commit such a ridiculous act?

One goes to dust the high shelf of One’s bedroom while standing on the bed.  One also forgets how close One is to the nearby rotating ceiling fan and One turns to jump off the bed and accidentally gets her face caught in the blades.

Go ahead.  You can laugh. You have my permission.

After the initial shock I was most concerned about my eye.  When I felt like it was OK, I took my hands from my face and found a large amount of blood smeared across my fingers and palms.  I went to the mirror.  Three gashes across my nose, one tiny one under the bag of my left eye, and one huge one on the upper left corner of my forehead.  It also had a pretty good goose egg.

Lovely.

The thing that bothers me the most is this is not the first time I’ve had a pretty wicked scar or bruise or whatever for doing something so incredibly stupid.  I wish I could say “Oh, well, I took up boxing so….”

No, I ran into a ceiling fan.

This brings up some other accidents that maybe some of my family or close friends remember:

  • Road rash on both knees and  a little on my stomach (You could see tiny little bits of gravel in my skin for a long time).  No, it wasn’t from a wicked wipeout while mountain biking.  It was from chickening out from riding a bicycle off of a ramp into a pond.
  • Stitches in my left thumb. No, it wasn’t from learning to be one of those knife throwing chefs at Benihana.  It was from opening a tuna can and somehow cutting myself.
  • Gashing my skin wide open on my left shin.  No, it wasn’t while rock climbing some wicked walls out at Red Rock.  No, it was from riding a small “zipline” (or imitation of one) on a small playground near Bend, OR. My foot slipped while catching myself.

This morning I woke up and nearly panicked when I saw that my goose egg had moved.  It moved!  I felt the large bump wondering “Is this one of those hematomas?  (do I even know what that is?  No)  Do I have a blood clot? (maybe that’s what a hematoma is) Will I go blind?!”  So I called my Physical Therapist Sister.   When in doubt, call Amy.  She reassured me.  She told me her own experience with bumps on the head and I felt better.

Did you know it is normal for a goose egg on your head to move?  It is looking for the spot of “least resistance”…so close to your eye. It is possible for me to have a nice bruise just around my left.  Yes, a black eye.

Just in time for the first day of school.

So, how should I explain this?  I ran into a ceiling fan….or…..I just took up boxing, you know, as a hobby.

…pictures later…

post edit OK, it’s later:

ok, so not too bad...

ok, so not too bad...

Ain't that a beauty.

Ain't that a beauty.

Day 4 and a black eye develops...also the first day of school for Chunk #1

Day 4 and a black eye develops...also the first day of school for Chunk #1

Day 6

Day 6

the black eye got worse in my eyelid...um, if you can see that....

the black eye got worse in my eyelid...um, if you can see that....

Make-up and long bangs were great for camaflouge.  By Day 9 it was as if it never happened....except when I'm under a fan and have a few flashbacks.

Make-up and long bangs were great for camaflouge. By Day 9 it was as if it never happened....except when I'm under a fan and I have a few flashbacks.

3 responses

  1. amy

    Hoe. Lee. Cow. Emphasis on the Hoe, cause I like to emphasize that word, not because you are one. I laughed but then felt bad after you said there was BLOOD. So sorry La. Yes, a bar fight is always the best explanation.

    August 23, 2009 at 7:09 pm

  2. Wendy

    Ouch. Hope you recover quickly!

    August 23, 2009 at 9:07 pm

  3. Ahhhh :/ sorry la!

    August 24, 2009 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

