“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

What’s my motivation?

There are two kinds of people:  those who are intrinsically motivated and those who are extrinsically motivated.

If you are intrinsically motivated you are able to reach your goals because your desire comes from within.  You don’t need any outside reward or motivation.

If you are extrinsically motivated you are able to reach your goals when there is an external or outside factor that motivates you to do it.  You need a a deadline, a due date, or better yet, a reward.

I am extrinsically motivated.  I’m not proud of it.  I even tried to dedicate a month of my life towards my quest of intrinsic motivation… but, alas, it did not happen as I had planned.

And yet I’d like to tell the critical side of me to “just back of, ok?!”  I am extrinsically motivated.  Fine!  So what? But at least I have found the external force to wake me up with the other early birds and that’s enough.

Yes, it’s true.

I want you all to know I am on Day 4 of being a morning person.  Day 4!

So what is this driving external force behind the change?

Well, the answer is obvious and therefore a bit deflating.  School (Oh, La, you mean real life is getting you up in the morning?  Shocking).

But it’s not just Chunk #1’s school.  Cause I could sleep til 7:00 (or 7:08, or 7:16, or 7:24) to get him off to school.  No, it’s El Jefe’s school.  He is off to change the world (one student at a time) somewhere between 6:00 and 6:20 am everyday.  I have made sure that when he is off to change the world, he does it on a full belly.

Now, perhaps the modern woman would say “He’s a big boy.  Let him feed himself.”  To which I say, “True.”  But on the other hand, what is wrong with taking care of my husband when I can?   Nothing.

And that is the secret to my embrace of the morning.  I like taking care of him (as I should).  And, then there are so many perks to getting those chores done before the kids get up, whereas, before I would try to get them done at night, when I’m tired from life and the (sometimes) nightly bedtime battle.

So, I’m doing it.  I’m on my way to being a morning person.  My days as a night owl are gone (at least this week anyway)!  Come 9:00 pm I am pooped….whereas before, it was, like, midnight…but I digress.

How long will this last?  I don’t know.

But in the meantime I shall enjoy this newfound friend called “Morning”.   We are in the honeymoon stage of our relationship, but so far, I really like her.

DSC04816

One response

  1. Wendy

    Good for you! I’m glad Jefe has you to fill his belly every morning. (And I really loved the line about changing the world, one student at a time).

    (Sigh). You are so rad.

    August 28, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

