“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

A case of the Mean Reds

From “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”-
Holly: You know those days when you get the mean reds?
Paul: The “mean reds?” You mean, like the blues?
Holly: No. The blues are because you’re getting fat or it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid, and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Don’t you ever get that feeling?
Paul: Sure. Some people call it angst.
Holly: When I get it, what does any good is to jump into a cab and go to Tiffany’s

This past weekend I needed a Tiffany’s to drive to.

I was under the weather.  When I’m under the weather, I can’t leave the house.  When I can’t leave the house I am left to stare at the unfinishedness around me.

I used to have romantic ideas of home rennovations.  How great to be able to rebuild a home and give it your own personal touch.  Now I’m just tired and want it done.    I almost reached my breaking point, but instead I just had a case of the Mean Reds.

A few days later I had some ladies over to discuss church stuff.  One of them said “Wow, La.  You guys have come so far.  I really love the changes you have made.  It looks great.”

Thank you.  I needed to hear that.

One response

  1. Wendy

    I hear you. I get the mean reds when I have to tell my kids to get in bed like 500 times and they still don’t listen so I take all their privileges away and then the rest of the week I have to think up things to entertain them because they’re bored. Grrr. Just go to sleep, will you?

    September 28, 2009 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

