“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Love List Lunes (Loo-nes) #3

Si, hoy es lunes.

As I was cooking dinner tonight, I couldn’t help but sing at the top of my lungs. I get in those moods. I wish my husband found this habit of mine endearing. I wish he would join in. Instead, he likes to tell me how I’ve picked an annoying song and to please stop (“I’ll Stand By You” by the Pretenders? Annoying? Come-on! That song deserves to be belted…plus I sing it to him…until he says its annoying…but I digress)

So, being the trained youngest child that I am, I think of other annoying songs that he hates. “La Copa De La Vida” by Ricky Martin. Another top of your lungs song. I don’t remember the words in English, but I love it in Spanish. In fact I think it’s better in Spanish:

“Tu y yo! Ale Ale Ale!
Go, go, go! Ale Ale Ale!
Arriba va! El Mundo esta de pie
Go go go Ale! Ale! Ale!”

My Love List item today? Spanish. It is a romantic language. There are songs I know in Spanish that just aren’t as good in English. Shakira? So much better in Spanish. “Only You,” do you remember that song by Yaz in the 80’s? So much better in Spanish by none other than Enrique Iglesias.
In college, after my life as a missionary in Argentina, I remember reading Pablo Neruda and swooning. Yes, I’ll admit it, I swooned. But, the English translation? It’s still lovely, it is.  But I don’t swoon. That was when I truly realized that Spanish is a romantic language.

For any Spanish lovers out there, please enjoy some of Señor Neruda’s work on this Love List Lunes.

Oda a la luz encantada

La luz bajo los árboles,
la luz del alto cielo.
La luz
verde
enramada
que fulgura
en la hoja
y cae como fresca
arena blanca.

Una cigarra eleva
su son de aserradero
sobre la transparencia.

Es una copa llena
de agua
el mundo.

What’s on your Love List today?

4 responses

  1. Lauren

    I love Pablo Neruda! Il Postino is a great movie!! Spanish is always on my love list!!!

    November 10, 2009 at 10:51 am

  2. Grass. We have actual green grass like a jungle in our backyard and after 5 years of waiting for it…it’s bliss I tell you!

    Spanish comes in as my second Love list thing today. I’m with you on singing in Spanish. “Somos los soldados” (“We are all enlisted” church hymn) is my all time fave. My kids make up their own fake Spanish words to go along with it, and we always end up laughing over it. Good times.

    November 10, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  3. Julie

    Oh, good ole Pablo. Man, that fool makes me swoon too. I tried to write an ode one time to a vegetable but it just didn’t seem to really scratch the surface. I love the onion one. I keep meaning to hang it in my kitchen with a few others of my faves like the alcachofa. Fun idea huh? You can do it to. Chloe asked me if I ever was on your lunes list as something you love? I’m just passing it on. 😉

    I should really jump on this band wagon. Maybe next lunes.

    November 12, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    • mamacheetah

      Of all the women in my life who would respond to a post about Spanish, you three were in the top five (…my two Spanish speaking sisters are missing).

      Lauren, I think I will watch Il Postino again, it’s been awhile.

      Terresa, I want grass. It’s been five years for us, too. Line upon line…. in the mean time we’ll enjoy making up Spanish words too. Except Chunk #2 doesn’t think she’s making it up, she thinks it’s real and refuses to be corrected….

      Julie, what a great idea! Isn’t there a poem about a lemon? That would fit perfectly in my cocina. So, Chloe would like to be on my love list? I think that can be arranged.

      November 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

