“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Love List Lunes #8

Yes, yes. I know. It’s Miercoles.

I am a funny creature. I have been pushing for getting this last room in our house dry-walled because I know that in doing so, all my dreams will come true. Yes. All of them.  And yet, I still find things to complain about.  It’s a wonderful thing that we are finishing this renovation.  Wonderful.  But doing it at Christmas time is messy and takes away my merriness and brightness.  Instead I am grumpy at the constant presence of a thin white dust that blankets my floors, annoyed at the way my dining table must be moved to the side and shoved up against the Christmas tree, and bitter about how I can’t have all of my Christmas decorations in the right places.  And don’t get me started on the boxes in my hallway.

I know, I know. Cue the violins.

But tonight, something happened.  I came home to something very special.  I’ve been waiting for a set of shelves that had to be custom cut because of the size of one cupboard.  I’ve been waiting so long that I did not anticipate receiving these shelves on this very night.  They were out of my mind amidst all the other things that need to be done to this house.  But there they were on my counter.  They were waiting for me, like a Christmas present.  Oh the joy!  My bad attitude turned upside down.

I thought about this.  Why can’t I just be thankful?  What a difference some shelves made.  I am so happy.  I know I shouldn’t let things outside of me affect my happiness but I guess I’m just human.

Tonight I have many loves for my love list.

Shelves

Mashed potatoes (with skins on)

My velvety ottoman (from Nikki) on which I can rest my feet.

The heater

Great-Grandma A’s retro couch

Breaking all house rules and eating dinner on said couch while watching tv

Blankets

Wet kisses and long hugs from my Chunks

This photo of this wonderful man

photo by La

(as well as hugs and kisses from him)

What’s on your love list today?

6 responses

  1. Mike

    Not to discredit what drywall can do for one’s dreams, but I thought that by voting for Pedro all my dreams would come true. Does that still hold true? Do they both work or just one or the other? Inquiring minds want to know.

    December 17, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    • mamacheetah

      I believe it holds true and I’d never want to take away from your vote for Pedro. May I be so bold to say that both would make your dreams come true? Seriously, if you saw the room…

      December 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

  2. Wendy

    That IS a good picture . . . although it makes me more certain that ever that the mis-labelled Christmas gift was actually for you.

    Either that, or El Jefe’s student isn’t faking her blindness.

    That is one manly beard.

    December 18, 2009 at 6:16 am

  3. Love heaters and mashed taters & just a question for ya, that velvety ottoman, does it happen to be dark blue in color? from my sista, no less? 🙂

    December 19, 2009 at 12:41 am

    • mamacheetah

      Yes Ma’am!

      December 30, 2009 at 3:14 pm

  4. Masom

    Today…I love a baby’s cheek resting on my neck and the feeling of waking up after 4 solid hours of sleep. And it’s not bad to be grateful for dry wall…all of the rest of us have the luxury of taking our dry wall for granted. Take ours away and …yeah..we’d be pretty bugged too…

    December 20, 2009 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

