“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Bliggety blog blog blogger…

photo by El Jefe

I’m always curious why people start a blog.  In fact, when I find a blog I like, I sometimes jump to their first entry to see what they’re all about.  I wanna know if they explain themselves a little or if they just jump right in.  Is it an avenue to keep in touch with family?  Is it a platform for working on writing?  Is it a way to relate to other moms?  Is it to feed a narcissistic bug?  Why do you do it?  Why do you make yourself public?

I’ve been asking myself these questions lately?  Blogs are interesting for many reasons I don’t feel like addressing here.  But, if I’m not careful they can suck my time away.

So what’s my blog all about?  This is what I ask myself and this is why I haven’t been writing lately.

To my fellow bloggers, why do you blog?  To my non-bloggers, why don’t you blog?

16 responses

  1. a couple of reasons. Therapy. Remind myself that i do have a voice. Update my family on things. Journal. It doth sucketh my timeth, tho, but I think it’s worthwhile. It makes me happy.

    January 24, 2010 at 1:35 am

    • mamacheetah

      Yes, Amy, I do find it therapeutic. In fact I once thought to myself that writing, in a way, heals my spirit. Later, a friend of mine started a writing class called “Writing to Heal the Soul.” I felt validated. 🙂

      February 11, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  2. Wendy

    I think I blog for some of all the reasons you listed. I am a little narcissistic, I like to keep in touch with my family, I do like to work on my writing, and I do like to relate to other moms. I like what Amy said, too, about reminding myself that I have a voice. Too often, I put down my own voice and think it isn’t important, that I’m not an expert so why should I say anything about it? Having a blog helps me get over that.

    Also, I am a comment whore.

    That is why I blog.

    January 24, 2010 at 9:31 am

    • mamacheetah

      I’m glad you have kept your blog. Your voice is important and hilarious I might add. I think I’m a little bit like you. I keep my opinions to myself most of the time. In a blog, I can pretend that whoever has stumbled upon my blog might care what I think.
      Now, when you say you are a “comment whore” (which made El Jefe crack up) do you mean you love receiving lots of comments, or you like giving a lot of comments? Perhaps it’s both….

      February 11, 2010 at 1:24 pm

  3. I blog because we had to start one for work! I was so anti before!

    January 24, 2010 at 10:39 am

    • mamacheetah

      Really? You had to start one for work? I had no idea Heritage Makers had such interesting job requirements. I love your blog, it lets me have a peek into what you’re up to.

      February 11, 2010 at 1:25 pm

  4. I blog to connect with other people.

    Also, after watching Julie & Julia last night, I realized that I blog because I am in complete control over my product, the look, every word, picture, etc.

    In the publishing world, you have to make concessions on so many counts (from what I’ve heard) that it boggles the mind, from the title to editing out scenes, chapters, and even (gasp) characters.

    I also like to soapbox and toss my words out to the world, wondering where they’ll land. It’s the feedback/comment loop of blogging that I like, too.

    Also deadlines. With blogging, there are no deadlines. I can be lazy, anal, or anything in between and no one is there to spank me either way.

    January 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

    • mamacheetah

      That’s an interesting point. You do have control over so much of your product. I’ve never considered my blog “a product”. Your product is really great, so many insights. Good thing no one is there to cut and chop.

      February 11, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  5. Funny, my husband asked me that about two weeks ago? He doesn’t like blogging. He doesn’t like that I have my life or at least parts of it out on the world wide web for anyone and everyone to look at– most of all he hates it if anything about him ends up out there, on mine or someone elses. He asked, “Can’t you just write in a journal and satisfy the same thing?” I was irritated by his question, but have thought a lot about it. And no it isn’t the same. I have a journal–I’ve kept one since I was eight. Sometimes I write more and sometimes I write less, but blogging is different. I weigh my words more. When there is an aucience, I have a chance for immediate feedback and sparks of connection and conversation with people in the blogging world that I might not have if I didn’t blog. I enjoy it. I do write things in my journal that I would never blog about– too personal. At the same time I write about daily thoughts and events that probably wouldn’t make it my journal and I would loose memory of over time if I didn’t blog. And maybe there is some narcisism there too? I don’t know.

    January 25, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    • mamacheetah

      You know, my hubby brought up the idea of a blog first after a Southern Nevada Writing Conference thingy (for teachers). I didn’t like it either, at first. So, I can relate to J on that point. But then I felt like you feel. I DO weigh my words more and it helps me practice my writing in that way. I also like the feedback. I like interacting with people who perhaps are in the same boat or perhaps understands my point of view. A blog is an interesting format, too, because there are things I write about that maybe I wouldn’t in my journal. Sometimes I get (what my friend Lisa calls) my Inner Blogging Voice. I start blog posts in my head. I don’t do that with my journal. Maybe I should (my inner journaling voice?). Is that a part of the narcissism? Who knows. Thanks for the feedback.

      February 11, 2010 at 1:41 pm

  6. HBA

    I have chosen not to blog at this point in life for several reasons. First, I don’t want to add anything extra to my list of “Things that I Should be Keeping Up With”. I realize it is a self-created list, but it is already way too long. Second, I’m not really comfortable making my life more public. I guess that’s a bit selfish because I enjoy reading what others have to say, but I don’t put my thoughts out there.

    I just haven’t really wanted to start a blog. I’ll have to think about it some more. Thanks for the question!

    January 27, 2010 at 9:39 am

    • mamacheetah

      Yes, I have often thought that it is just one more thing on my to do list. And, H, I don’t think you should call yourself selfish for not wanting to make your life public. You make two valid points on why not to do it: Time and Publicity. I think I keep going, though, because of my reasons above. I’m a blogger wanting to be a writer. I think this one avenue to improve and grow. Thanks for responding.

      February 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm

  7. Masom

    No blog for me. I want to, but that would mean eveything would have to be in order first (mental) and I am not there yet. The pile of laundry on the dining room table, the blackened grout, the nursing baby and the potty-training 2 year old — they are all calling to me right now. Therefore I cannot blog! (Yes I know, I am mental!)

    January 27, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    • mamacheetah

      When things get in order, I eagerly await the wise words of my sister. I think if I had as many kids as you I don’t think I’d be blogging right now. You are excused…though you may not call yourself mental 🙂

      February 11, 2010 at 1:50 pm

  8. Hi Mama Cheetah. I just popped over from “Wanda’s” blog. I’ve been here before and I think you’re funny. Plus we met last summer. Anyway: why blog?

    I blog to track my rapidly growing offspring, that was the initial reason I told myself, but secretly I felt like there’s a bigger story to tell. I like to write, to reminisce, and to taste life again through words. I also reconnected with some old friends I hadn’t seen since high school cuz of the blog. That was cool.

    BTW, El Jefe’s letting make a print of his ocean pic. Tell him to send me your address so I can mail you a check! (I already asked on FB but he ignored me).

    February 3, 2010 at 1:33 pm

  9. mamacheetah

    Mrs. Olsen, I am so excited to get a comment from you. I love your blog. El Jefe saw your comment and wants you to know there is no ignoring going on here. But, I’ll remind him again anyway 🙂

    February 11, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

