“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Love List Lunes #9

Sî, hoy es lunes.


In the year 2004, El Jefe and I were looking forward to seeing the movie “Spiderman 2.” Whenever it was brought up I would hear El Jefe comment on how Michael Chabon contributed to the script, how it was supposed to be really great, and how El Jefe was looking forward to seeing it (this is significant because El Jefe is PICKY…but not in a bad way…just in El Jefe’s way). In case you need some background on Michael Chabon: He wrote The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay (which received the Pulitzer Prize in 2001) and Summerland among many other novels.  In fact, I believe I just saw El Jefe uploading The Yiddish Policeman’s Union: a Novel onto his iPod.  So, my husband really likes the works of Michael Chabon.  And I, through readings from my husband and chances of opening a book to any random page and just reading it, like him, too…and one day I will read the aforementioned novels.

Anyway with that background, I tell my story: So the two of us are sitting in the theater with great anticipation.  We have some popcorn, we have chosen center seating in the stadium theater, and just as I stretch back into my chair I hear these words come out of my husband’s mouth:

“You know, Michael Chabon wrote the screenplay for this.”

First I thought he was kidding, so I turn to look at him.  Upon seeing his face, I see that he’s not kidding but I just have to ask, “Are you serious?”

Him: “What?”

Me (cracking up):  “You have said that to every person that has mentioned this movie.  I have heard you say that, like, 20 times!”

Who knows what the truth was of how many times it was said, but I had heard it enough, and I could not believe he was telling me this…like it was brand new to me.

Needless to say, my response annoyed him.  He was being sincere in just tossing out this information and I just smacked it down.

But please do not think my husband is the victim in this story.  Oh no.  He used this situation to his advantage.  Apparently, I, too, am guilty of repeat stories.

Me looking at a Harley Davidson:  “Did you know that the sound out of a Harley is actually patented?”

El Jefe:  “Really?  Are you sure?  Did Michael Chabon tell you that?”

Me: “What?”

El Jefe:  “You tell me that every time we see a Harley.”

Right next to the Home Depot near our house is a street sign. I still don’t know the name of it because every time we pass it I say:

“Every time we pass that I think it says Bernie Mac.”

El Jefe:  “Are you sure it doesn’t say Michael Chabon?”

Oh snap!

Apparently I am more guilty of retelling stories than he is.  There are plenty more of these situations.

But a couple of months ago I got him good.  It doesn’t matter what the story was…. what matters is how awesome it was to say to him, so slyly, “Oh, did that happen with MICHAEL CHABON?!” Ha!  It is hard to catch him, but when I do,  it is DELICIOUS.


My apologies to Michael Chabon for using his name in vain so often, but he has become our code word for “Hey stupid!  I’ve heard that story, like, 20 times!”  And it works well for us.

So, what am I saying is on my love list today?  The code word my husband and I share “Michael Chabon”  that makes us both laugh real hard (and perhaps cry inside, just a little).

What’s on your love list today?  Or better yet, how do you and your better half lovingly slam each other?

ps If you haven’t read my last post, please do so and then leave me your comments. I’m really curious.  To those who responded, thank you so much.  I loved reading your thoughts.

7 responses

  1. Wendy

    I am not going to tell you about secret slam code words because, well, you know.

    But I am going to tell you I picked up Summerland at the library a couple of weeks ago and just started reading it TODAY, even before I read this post.

    Weird.

    January 27, 2010 at 12:36 am

  2. soozan

    Loved this post, as always. I stalk this blog quite a bit, my dear Mz Laura. But, my bigger question is…have you actually read Summerland? I have been trying to read all of M.C.’s stuff and stuff, but Summerland was SO…BORING, I finally just gave up.

    January 27, 2010 at 2:24 pm

  3. Masom

    Loved Summerland…thanks for the recommendation Jefe. Loved Spiderman2 too…my favorite of the series. “Raindrops keep falling on my head…” I laugh just thinking about it.

    Your slam reminds me of how I would tell Rusty over and over (every time we passed the fire station on Nellis) about how my nephew Jacob had pushed his finger through the eyehole of one of those vintage fisher price viewmasters (probably from the late 1960’s) and got it stuck on his finger. We ended up going to the firestation to get it ( the viewmaster, not his finger) cut off with the mini jaws of life. It really is a great story and maybe Russ thought so too… the first three times he heard it.

    January 27, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  4. Kim

    Yes we will be there at Lance’s Homecoming. We are still in the same ward which we are glad for. However, I have to say I will miss being right around the corner from Lori and Tracey. Lori is my lifesaver, from borrowing things to answering mothering questions, etc. I love that woman. so glad we aren’t out of the ward. Hope to see you on Sunday!:)

    January 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  5. Madeline

    hahahah I just love your blog! im just sitting in front of my computer laughing my head off. and then i tell all of my siblings to come to the vomputer and read what you wrote haha love itt!!!

    January 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm

  6. A) Did you guys like the movie?
    B) Please phonetically spell out that guy’s last name. Chay-bun? Chah-bone?

    You guys have a great sense of humor. I don’t have a sweet story like that but once in a while I like to call my Godfather-loving-husband “Chump Corleone” because I like the way it rolls of the tongue and because mormon men can’t be mafia, no matter how hard they try.

    February 3, 2010 at 1:35 pm

  7. Lovingly slam each other…a lot of what we do is nonverbal, I think.

    Or we’ll refer to being in a van down by the river (which is codeword for clueless).

    February 6, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Leave a Reply

