“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Stupid but funny

If you know El Jefe and me, you know that we enjoy the “vintage”.  We like “retro”.  We are “unique buyers”.  Eh, say it how you like, we are thrift store shoppers. And, I have to say, I have some seriously awesome thrift store finds. Boots, coats, dresses, jeans, skirts…….our LIME GREEN CHAIR  that has lasted our whole marriage……I could go on but I shall spare you.

I will add, thrift store shopping takes work. There are even blogs dedicated to sharing the secrets of thrifting. Like this one .

I’ll warn you though, as you meander through the aisles you need your “crap filters” on.  There is some serious junk out there.  But then again, there is good junk and bad junk.  The good junk is the stuff that makes you go “Ber?”  Wondering, why would somebody have this in the first place? And, you really wish you knew the history of that item.  Or there is good junk that you want to have because it is so weird/funny but you can’t justify owning it other than, “Hey, this is funny!”.  That is why I bring my camera.

Let me show you some good junk.

Behold:


Is that Athena’s temple? As a bird house? What bird could resist this gem? Shoot.  This would actually look good next to our lion statue.

Or there is this:

This goes under “why would anyone have this in the first place?” category (oh, and are they really charging 19.99?)

Next:

Aah, the hook rug.  Framed, even, like fine art.  Those were the days.  For two seconds I thought this would go extremely well with my living room….I liked the colors.   Don’t worry, I had my  “filter” on.  However, kudos to whoever bought this.

And then there is the “literature”:

El Jefe especially found this one amusing.

Oh, and this:

Just for the record this is the second book about, uh, Satanism we’ve found at Deseret Industries.  This goes under the “I wonder about the history of this one” category.

El Jefe looks hip in these but it goes under the “no reason to buy this” category (and yes, I make up my categories as I go):


Ok, this last one is my favorite.


“The Avenging Unicorn” is currently stabbing a mime in this box.  A MIME.  It comes “with 4 magical horns and 3 figures to impale”.  What the crap?!

(El Jefe wants you to know, if you are interested in owning your own Avenging Unicorn you can get it on Amazon.)

All these pictures make me laugh and I needed a laugh, thus my reason for sharing.  Perhaps one day I should share my serious finds that would knock your socks off.  Oh yes, knock.  your.  socks.  Right off!

Goodnight.

Post Edit:  This one is for Amber and Ty.  I did not have “my head on straight” according to El Jefe.  This next item was not in a thrift store.  No, it was in an elite Las Vegas neighborhood, “The Scotch Eighties”, which probably means nothing to you but just know that it is Old Time Vegas special.  After leaving my friend’s house, I saw this sitting outside the trash.  I thought El Jefe would enjoy a picture.  However, upon presentation I found that not only did he enjoy it, but he wanted the item.  Apparently, so did somebody else.  Had it been there when we returned, this would have been one of your Christmas gifts.

Amber, be grateful.  Ty, I know you are digging that ‘stache.

18 responses

  1. HBA

    Ah!! I haven’t laughed like that for a while. Sometimes I see things like the unicorn toy set and I wonder what the poor people in the manufacturing plant in China think when something like that is coming down the line.

    Laughter is the best medicine. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend!
    Love, Hailey

    March 19, 2010 at 10:16 am

  2. Greg

    Seriously? Your filters are way too strict. I want that unicorn. I want to set it up in my office. AND I want those glasses (I mean come on, El Jeff looks like an apostle there! Urim and Thumim?). Julie sent this to me and now my day cannot get any better now.

    March 19, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    • mamacheetah

      Greg! Glad it made your day. Yes, looking back, my filters were too strict.

      March 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  3. Hey I found you on MMB in the Las Vegas group. I have been here for 8 years and am also a big thrifter. Love your finds and glad you had on a crap filter. Where do you shop besdies the DI?

    March 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    • mamacheetah

      Hey Linda! Thanks for reading. I gotta tell you, the best thrift store in Las Vegas is called The Charleston Outlet. It’s on Charleston close to Maryland Parkway I believe. Their employees are not allowed to shop there. So, if something good comes in, it’s available to customers, not the employees. Right up the street is Savers. There are many Savers in Vegas, but that one seems to have some really great gems. I could be wrong but we’ve had good luck there.

      March 21, 2010 at 11:25 pm

  4. Wendy

    Excellent. I wonder why we always want to give Ty the good Christmas presents. Perhaps he appreciates them the most.

    March 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    • mamacheetah

      It was just because we had his name….I think….then again Ty got “Don’t Hassle the Hoff.” He’s a magnet I suppose.

      March 21, 2010 at 11:27 pm

  5. gka

    Please tell me you bought the unicorn. . .

    March 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

  6. I am sooo Tweeting this link as soon as I’m done commenting here.

    Gah! Ber! Whatev. Man, dude. That stuff was the trash bomb that Hiroshima missed. Wowzers.

    I liked the hooked rug and the curb side portrait the best. I love visiting your blog for the quirkiness and a good laugh. You never disappoint, La.

    March 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm

  7. PS: Ben likes the Avenging Unicorn. Absolutely. We hope you bought that one.

    March 19, 2010 at 11:51 pm

  8. hahaha found your blog through Terresa’s tweet. What IS that beard thing?

    I must know.

    March 20, 2010 at 8:07 am

    • mamacheetah

      I wish I knew. 🙂

      March 21, 2010 at 11:28 pm

  9. New Blog for La….thrift store “treasures”. I want all of them

    March 20, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  10. I meant, you should start that blog, much like the the blog of unnecessary quotations

    March 20, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  11. Amy E

    That was quite funny – and yes, another one of your siblings reads your blog. Shocking for me, I know

    March 21, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  12. mamacheetah

    In retrospect, yes we should have bought The Avenging Unicorn. I have been slowly dejunking the house and I was being strict. I also have a problem with my children playing with that. I suppose we should have bought and then had a give away on the blog. Next time…next time.

    March 21, 2010 at 11:30 pm

  13. Kim

    I LOVE THRIFT STORES TOO!

    So sorry about your ‘post-pregnancy’ post. I hope you’re doing ok.

    March 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

  14. Ty

    Ah, missed opportunities. I’m still kicking myself for not buying a ‘Golden Girls’ clock I saw at Goodwill for you and Jeff two years ago.

    I’ve already cleared out some wall space in case the painting reappears at a later date.

    March 29, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

