“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

love list lunes #17

Sí, hoy es lunes.

art by jolline on etsy.com

There are books in this world that are like a good old fashioned crush. You can’t wait to see them again at the end of the night. You think about them during meetings, phone calls, or whatever it is you have to be doing. Perhaps you even sneak the book in with you.  When you do finally get to be together, time goes by way too fast and you mourn having to go to bed. Sometimes, you put off sleep for them. At particularly intense parts of your relationship, you may spend a whole day with them, not even getting out of your pajamas, setting out cold cereal for the kids, and letting the laundry pile sit, secretly hoping it will fold itself. Just five more minutes. Just one more chapter…

And then?

Well, then it’s over. And you ask, “What am I supposed to do now?”

You feel let down, perhaps even lost. You long for their company. You could start over, but it just wouldn’t be the same.

It’s time to move on.

I love a good book, but I hate when I love it so much that I feel a void when it’s over. Still, I’m glad we had our time together.

What’s on your love list today?

5 responses

  1. I loved that, Laura! So true! Great comparison

    May 4, 2010 at 10:46 am

  2. Love that pic!!

    And it’s so true! I felt that way after finishing “The Handmaid’s Tale” recently, and now while reading The Lighting Thief, #1.

    May 4, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  3. PS: Where did you find that sign? Did a friend of yours paint it? So cool! I’m going to have to borrow it for my blog. And wishing I had a print of that, poster size!!

    May 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    • mamacheetah

      It was on Etsy but I don’t know if they are available anymore. I want one, too.

      May 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm

  4. Wendy

    So what book were you reading?

    May 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

