“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

My Chunk #2

On most days, I would describe her as a combination Fancy Nancy and Kung Fu Panda.

But between 6:00 pm  and 8:00 this evening, she was more like a cross between Moaning Myrtle and a young Luke Skywalker (you know, when we first meet the whiny baby and he wants to go down to the “toshi station to pick up some power converters”).

Imagine it.  Now, put it together and then stick it in a 4 year old.

I play these games with myself to keep my sanity…. because she did the fake whiny cry for two hours

When we got home she cried because I rolled up her window for her and she didn’t get to do it.
Then she cried because I brought in all the groceries before she could help (because she was too busy crying).
Then she cried in her room because I bust out my loving and logical parental skills and invited her to cry in her room but to “please join us when you’re done”. She kept up the whining and crying  for a good 30 minutes. Impressive.
She cried because her stomach hurt right when it was time for her to help set the table.
She cried because her brother scratched her while they waited for me to set out the food.
She cried because she was hungry.
She cried because we had lasagna (which at one point in her life was her favorite but now she’s “not in the mood for it”).
She cried because I told her “I am the mommy” when she yelled at Chunk #1 for sneaking garlic bread.
Then she remembered that she didn’t want lasagna and she cried some more.

I thought of the book “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-good, Very Bad Day” except I know the rest of her day was great because she spent it at Aunt Masom’s and they had “the world’s longest slip ‘n’ slide!”  It did look pretty awesome.

I wondered how I could help this girl cheer up because NOTHING was working.  Then, it magically stopped.  Dare I say why?  All of a sudden she tooted like a machine gun and the two hour whine/cry/moan session ended.


Then the goofy jokes began. This one was the favorite:

Yes, that was the joke, even though it’s not Thursday.  It was essential that she stick out her fingers like guns when she said, “Boooooorrrrring”
It was repeated a good 15 times with “Mommy, look” with some good cracking up afterwards.

In any case, my goofy girl was back.

self portrait by Chunk #2



3 responses

  1. Nikki

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. nice.

    August 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  2. Wendy

    I love it when the goofy girl comes back and tells that whiny girl to take a hike. I have one, especially, that falls into the whiny bunker and can’t seem to get herself out–at least not quickly enough for me. Care to guess who?

    August 26, 2010 at 5:45 pm

  3. is it a girl thing? Do I need to look forward to this with Zephyr? Someone tell me no, cause after this X4, I am so done with it.

    August 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Leave a Reply

