“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

September

photo by Pete Mcgregor

September


The breezes taste
Of apple peel.
The air is full
Of smells to feel–

Ripe fruit, old footballs,
Drying grass,
New books and blackboard
Chalk in class.

The bee, his hive
Well-honeyed, hums
While Mother cuts
Chrysanthemums.

Like plates washed clean
With suds, the days
Are polished with
A morning haze.
~John Updike

The funny thing is, this does NOT describe September in Las Vegas. In Las Vegas, September is one sigh of relief from the blazes of August. While most of the country gets to embrace Autumn full force, we in the Southwest get to roll down our car windows, finally emerge from our houses without puddling up into hot liquid, and start playing on the playground again without blistering burns. My children say “Wow, it’s nice and cold outside, Mom!” as we rush out to school in 75 degree weather. My son tells me he loves Las Vegas while I remember just one month ago how he would ask me on a daily basis “Why do we live in the desert?!” “Why can’t we live in Idaho?!” His memory is shortening with the days and he can ride his bike in 80 degree comfort.

I feel bits and pieces of this poem but it will not be complete until October or November.  I love Autumn. I may say it is my favorite season but I say that with the coming of every season. It’s a lot like when I was a child and my brother would heartily announce at the end of each meal “Mom, that’s the best meal I ever had!” He savored. He loved.  And so, I will do the same for the season, for Fall. I will go out to Gilcrease Orchard and buy fresh Apple Cider and perhaps pick my own squash. I will wander the gardens of the Springs Preserve and take my children to be Haunted. I will go on bike rides. I will hike Mt. Charleston and Red Rock. And I will start it all tonight by making some Apple Pie!

2 responses

  1. Love it!!! ;o)

    September 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm

  2. Wendy

    Yum. I wish you could send me a piece.

    September 12, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

