“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

School started, can’t you just smell the school supplies?

I love school supplies.  Glue sticks, markers, #2 pencils; glossy folders with the pictures of the Beatles or Julius the Monkey; a fresh box of undented crayons with their waxy balm; and most important,  Trapper Keepers (I miss those, are they still around?).

Did you ever watch You’ve Got Mail? At the beginning Joe Fox/Tom Hanks says: “Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly-sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”  The Fall DOES make me want to buy school supplies.  When my children were just babies I would walk by the Target shelves that were specifically dedicated to a new school year and feel some major mixed emotions.  I was so glad they weren’t at that stage of their life but still felt this incredible urge to buy new scissors, glue, and crayons.

I think school supplies are my only favorite part of the start of school.

So, with that said, enjoy some first day of school shots:

Ready!

I asked Chunk #1 to to take Chunk #2's hand....you know, for an adorably staged shot.

but then he STILL kept holding her hand.....not a staged shot.

Playground!

Saying goodbye....

And away he goes.....Goodbye! Remember who you are! I love you! Be good! You are awesome! You'll do great! etc..etc..etc... (uh, look out for that creepy man in front of you)

And off to Kindergarten we go!

Another goodbye (remember who you are, you are awesome, you'll do great, etc....etc...etc....) and a shot of Mrs. S, the best Kindergarten teacher in America. Seriously. I'm not joking. She's so good she makes it look easy.

A very strange feeling. (Hmm, not to draw from the moment of severe-mama-loneliness but I must say, my booty looks big! ... but I think I was carrying a purse. Let's just say I was carrying a purse.)

5 responses

  1. Mom

    Thanks for the first day of school pics. It was always fun to do that with our kids. We even managed to get some of the neighbors in a few of them. Hope you are not too lonesome without chunk #2 keeping you company.

    September 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm

  2. Ty

    They look so cute! I can’t believe how old they both are. How exciting, but sad how fast the time has flown…

    September 14, 2010 at 2:37 pm

  3. Wendy

    I love school supplies, too. Actually, I really love office supply stores. I could walk around one for hours. Is that weird?

    Chunk #1 is looking OLD in these pictures. I swear he’s aged in the month since I’ve seen him. Love the braids on the girly, too. So fun!

    September 14, 2010 at 3:48 pm

  4. Amy

    Laura – your posts are awesome – I love them! And I love that your kindergartener was happy and waving and not hanging on to mom’s leg as the teacher is trying to pry hands off and swoop the child inside! Ahh, memories.

    September 14, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  5. Cute !!!!!

    September 14, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

