“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

At what point is it too much?

I’m talking about all the “geeking out” we do on Star Wars. I liked Star Wars as a child (and I’d like to thank Princess Leia for influencing my favorite hairdo in Kindergarten….I wish Chunk #2 would let me do it to her hair) but, I never enjoyed it then as much as I do now with my Chunk #1. I would compare it to rediscovering your favorite doll from your childhood and watching your daughter love it even more than you did. I don’t have that joy, yet. My only left over doll is my Cabbage Patch one and I think it kind of freaks out my daughter. But I digress. Back to nerding up my son. It seems that the combination of Legos and Star Wars has opened up this world for my child and he is not going to leave it too soon.  I see him pore over books like a miniature scholar.  He tells me about the droids and what they do.  He makes his own Star Wars cars and ships.  I hear him and Chunk #2 play pretend Star Wars.  And we just feeeeeeeeeed it.

I’m not really that worried.  Afterall, Geeks do rule the world.  I’ll just make it a point to encourage other things.  Right?  Right.

With that said, here is the birthday cake we made for Chunk #1 on his Golden Birthday.  (Please note the “Golden” Frosting)  (And I say “Golden” because Chunk #1 kept saying it was not golden it was yellow and to please make it golden)  (and while I’m writing in parenthesis we also had a golden dinner but I can’t find the shots so, imagine if you will, orange chicken with brown rice, corn, sparkling apple cider, and some salad flecked with yellow peppers and carrots…It was, indeed, a lovely golden birthday)

Ok, here’s how you make an R2D2 Cake…..except this was an R7D7 cake……I thought the Chunk chose it because he was turning 7 but it was really because he has a triangle for an “eye”(?).  He found it in the Essential Encyclopedia of Star Wars Droids (available at your local library):

We used a 9x13 pan and a 9" circle pan. Cut two legs off the 9x13 part and then after you cut 2/3 of the circle for the head, use the other semi circle for the feet. Or go to another blog that explains it better 🙂

Now the decorating.  I prefer to get the kids involved:

I just do all the finishing touches:

And viola!  You have an R7D7 cake!

Yeah for birthdays!

And for El Jefe’s brothers……. a little Fu Manchu….Chunk #1 wore it especially for all of you:

5 responses

  1. Wendy

    I had no idea there was an R7D7. Do the Rs and Ds always have the same number? Ask Chunk #1 for me.

    Oh–SWEET cake, by the way. Totally love it.

    September 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  2. Lo

    Would you please come to my house and make one for son’s b-day?

    September 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  3. Mom

    Great cake La and kids. Can’t wait to see all of you in a couple of weeks.

    September 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  4. Love that cake, Laura, U R sooooo Cre8tive!!!!!! 🙂 We celebrated M&G’s bdays @ Legoland last week and had a great time!

    PS: When’s our next writer’s meet up, next week?

    September 20, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  5. Lisa

    Wow La, what an amazing cake-maker and mama you are! That cake is awesome and I think I just might have to make one for an upcoming birthday in MY family. I love reading your blog. You have a way.

    October 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Leave a Reply

