“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

It’s that time of year again.

I’m dejunking, people! I have my seasons (read SEASONS not REASONS—although of course I have my reasons but they don’t need to be itemized here)

I’m in that dejunking season again.

I’m not very good at it. What I do is I look at boxes and say “why do we still have you?” and I go through it. Then my hands get sticky with memories and I can’t let it go.  But, last season, I got tough on myself and finally disposed of quite a few items, including this ridiculously awesome souvenir.

You see, about twelve years ago, the streets of Argentina echoed of Enrique, Shakira, and Ricky.  It was everywhere. So, while waiting for the use of the phone in the bus terminal of Cañada de Gomez, I bought Enrique’s mug for .50 centavos.  I stashed it in my luggage until the end of my mission (a sister has to stay focused, you know), and then kept it in a box of “mission stuff” for the next eleven and a half years.  So, I said goodbye to Enrique last Spring and laughed at the fact that his mole was photoshopped off of his face.

Now, the question is, do I get rid of this?


It was a “gift” from my husband.


8 responses

  1. Jill Mennig

    Meeeeoww! 😉

    September 21, 2010 at 6:30 am

  2. Wendy

    Mrow. I think he gave that to you as a hint for what he wants you to be for Halloween. In fact, I think he’d love one for himself, too. And I can’t see your kids being left out of the cat family–not on your life. So get sewing, Laura! (When you’re done, THEN you can get rid of the pattern.)

    P.S. I’m impressed you know Enrique HAS a mole. I had no idea.
    P.P.S. The best place for stuff like that is my parent’s house. I’m pretty sure there’s a Kirk Cameron (ala Growing Pains) poster in my old closet. I got it at DI and had it up in my apartment while I was at Ricks. You just can’t *find* treasures like that. They must be homed in somehow to their rightful owners in the universe. “Thank you, Universe! I needed this!”

    September 21, 2010 at 8:15 am

  3. Wow that costume brings back the memories!! That was the exact same pattern my mom used for numerous Halloween costumes for me and my little bro, Truman, growing up: cheetah, black panther, werewolf, to name a few. Then we used it a couple of years ago when I volunteered to make the doggie costumes for Jay’s dance class. That’s one versatile pattern!

    September 21, 2010 at 10:17 pm

  4. Julie

    I have one of those weirdly long 11×17 folders of Bon Jovi that I can’t seem to give up. I mean Argentina did rock for pop star stuff. I’m sad that Enrique didn’t get to enjoy your lips pressed against him on a cold Winter evening as you sipped your hot chocolate. I guess the only thing to do now is make a mug with Jeff’s mug on it. He would love that.

    September 22, 2010 at 11:22 am

  5. Sam

    Hell no, don’t get rid of that. You’ll thank me later.

    September 26, 2010 at 10:07 pm

  6. HBA

    Now I am curious…is this the origin of “Mama Cheetah”?

    September 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

  7. That was a gift from El Jefe? (From Savers, no doubt?) 🙂

    When in doubt, toss. When it’s gifted from a family member, re-think it one minute, then toss.

    PS: We de-junked last weekend, took a 10+ bag haul to Goodwill. Felt good, but still, it was the top of the garage junk iceberg.

    September 28, 2010 at 1:24 pm

  8. I’ll trade you that pattern for a fairy/with costume pattern I’ve had for 4 years and haven’t opened

    October 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

