“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Chasing Stars

“I like too many things and get all confused and hung-up running from one falling star to another till I drop. This is the night, what it does to you. I had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion.”
~Jack Kerouac

 

photo by el jefe

 

Jack’s quote from “On the Road” makes me feel better about myself.

I recall a discussion with my mother many years ago. She is a realist. I am not. There are a few times in my life where this made us clash (just a bit). The discussion was based on my disposition of being interested in too many things. I didn’t understand. What was wrong with wanting to learn piano, violin, dance, swimming, basketball, volleyball, softball, photography and still manage going to school? Later in life I tried my hand in drawing, modern dance, long distance running, racquetball, tennis, writing, mountain biking, and who knows what else. I thought this was normal. My mom’s point was that if I didn’t discipline myself in just a few areas I will master nothing.  Well, of course she was right. But, my disposition hasn’t changed. These days I continue spreading myself too thin.  These days I would love to learn to cook and bake better, sew better, make quilts, learn woodworking, gardening, guitar, be organized, read more, learn more at home renovation (?!), do another triathlon, go back to the piano, be a better mommy, learn about herbs, and write, write, write.

“I like too many things” but I won’t fight it anymore.  I’ve stopped chastising myself.  I will keep chasing stars and getting confused.  I love this world.  I want to experience everything in it.  Is it bad that I’ll never master anything?

I don’t feel like answering that right now.

For now, I’ll just write about it.  This blog is not a niche blog.  I’ve not mastered the art of motherhood or wifehood.  My writing is amateur.  My photography is mostly stolen from my husband.  And everything else will get thrown in the mess.  “I have nothing to offer . . . but my own confusion.”

*****************************

What stars have you been chasing lately?

6 responses

  1. Wendy

    I love this. I have struggled lately with the same, and have decided to simply do what makes the most sense and brings the most reward at the time. It’s okay to like doing lots of things, right? Do I have to master anything? Is that required? I think chasing after different stars helps make us into the people we are supposed to be becoming.

    October 11, 2010 at 6:18 am

  2. HBA

    I really liked this, La. Good for you for chasing after stars! I do the same thing, but sometimes the realist in me takes over and I don’t even try something new because I know I’ll never master it. I need to work on that. Just don’t let yourself believe that because you’ve not perfected something, you have “nothing to offer…” Not so.

    October 13, 2010 at 8:44 am

  3. mamacheetah

    Wendy: I guess there are times when we do have to regroup and not chase anything. So that’s ok. That’s life. But I like you’re question: Do I have to master anything? Is that required? Uh, no, I guess not. It goes back to when advice to our children. “Just have fun. It’s ok if you don’t win every time.” We need to listen to ourselves, too.

    HBA: Thanks 🙂

    October 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  4. Guy

    La, if you ask me you’ve mastered the art of blogging.

    Way to go, Sis!

    (sorry about the bikes)

    October 15, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  5. mamacheetah

    Thank you dear Brother.

    October 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm

  6. Wow. We are twins. I have often referred to myself as the half-assed master of nothing and everything.

    BTW, I loove this picture. Kindof reminds me of the other night water picture I purchased from El Jefe but he ignored my email when I asked where to send the check….????

    I promise it wasn’t a whim (the wanting of the picture). Well sortof a whim, but sticking around long enough to be real. Okay, send me your address por favor.

    October 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

