“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

A rant about how I got cold last night and now it won’t let me go.

Today was a Cream of Wheat morning. With milk. And strawberries.

Compared to other cities, towns, homes, whatever, I shouldn’t complain about the weather this time of year…….but then I do anyway.  The chill creeps in at night and sticks with me most of the morning. I try to push it off with things like steamy cooked cereals,  hot showers and stripy knee-high socks that leave indents in my skin by the end of the day.

In terms of Blue Bungalow life, this is the time of year where our power bill drops down to a decent charge but then our gas bill begins its climb up.

In terms of Motherhood, this is the time of year where I want to keep my children home, wrapped up in blankets and read books together, or just break out the Christmas movies.

There is something deceptive about the seasons in the desert.  The leaves finally start to change about now.  I’ve been waiting for it to happen for a month now.  I do that every year.  I hold my arms out, ready to hug Autumn and then the weather goes from blazing hot to………perfect.  75 degree weather and and finally think “I love it here”.  My mind temporarily forgets the traditional idea of Autumn for a while.  But, then, I’m caught off guard.  The cold finally hits.  And though this metaphoric assault is so much softer here than in most parts of the country, it still gets to me.  I’ve been tricked, pulled into dream land with this easy weather and then it gets taken away.  Like that.

I resent this teasing season.

And so do my toes.

Now that I’ve been a big baby, tell me:

What did you have breakfast?

or

How is your day going?

or

Are you as cold as I feel right now?


5 responses

  1. Wendy

    For breakfast, I had a chocolate cupcake.

    My day is going well–the end of a crazy-busy-zinging-this-way-and-that kind of week. And tonight I’m going to a play–a musical called “Urinetown”–with one of my best friends. So–yay!

    My feet stay cold from October until March, pretty much. They get wet and it seeps in until there’s no denying it: the rainy season is here.

    November 19, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  2. gka

    Just so you know – the forecast for Wednesday in balmy Idaho is 18. (That’s the high. And no I didn’t mistype 118.) Hope you get warm!

    November 19, 2010 at 5:49 pm

  3. Sandi

    As I am sitting here my feet are FREEZING! After a milder Moscow winter last year I am not ready for the Rexburg winter….at all. I feel your pain. You are welcome to join my boycott of winter if you would like, however it requires not wearing a jacket until December. And I had peanut butter on bread and apple juice for breakfast.

    November 19, 2010 at 11:13 pm

  4. Julie

    I had Banana Nut Cheerios with a cut up banana. For a non-cereal person this is big news. I think I love this cereal though it will surely wear off–always does. We woke up with our atomic clock saying “0” on the outside temp. Yeah, that’s right. It always makes you initially think your clock is broken. Never fear, the high today will be 7. Let’s just all cross our fingers that this will be our last winter here. Cold doesn’t even begin to explain it. At least we have free heat in this apt. So buck up little camper. Wanna come visit? It’s all fun and novel for at least a few days.

    November 20, 2010 at 9:26 am

  5. Toast and hot chocolate.

    The cold invigorates me. Anything above 20 degrees and I’m doing alright. But you are right…the desert it deceptive in its affection, especially when the sun goes down.

    December 2, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Leave a Reply

