“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

January Slide Show #8

photo by my mother (Spring 1988)

(I can’t believe I’m posting this picture but here we go……) I went to my niece’s bridal shower on Saturday (let’s call her Lala since I’m all about nicknames). She introduced all her family members to the crowd of ladies. I especially liked my introduction as her aunt who “was also her partner in crime growing up.” Well, this made me smile because the feeling is mutual my dear! I loved becoming an aunt at the age of ten and, since Lala lived so close, I felt like she was almost a little sister. A little sister who I never got tired of because she eventually went to her own home.

Now, when Lauren talked about us being partners in crime, for some reason this moment immediately came to mind and I knew I had a picture somewhere.  The question was, am I brave enough to post it to my slide show?

Yes, yes I am.

This photo is from the spring of 1988. I’m either 12 or 11 in it, and Lala here is 2 or about to turn two. This is us in our secret hideout.  I designated the cement square between our long row of pomegranates and our humongous evergreen tree as our “hideout spot.”  Lala was all for it.  So we snagged one of the purple blankets and hid.  I have no idea what we did except that we named it and then sat there.  It was the build up to that moment that I remember – Lala’s toddler excitement and all that.

Being an aunt was great.  I often dressed Lala and her sister Chuck up in funky clothes and then had a fashion show. I  recall teaching Lala a dance to a Simon and Garfunkel song and then video taping it.  I’ll never forget how she’d call Family Home Evening “Hamily Fome Evening” (something I still say to my kids and they have no idea why).  I’ll never forget how she would come up to my brother, Guy,  while he was busy doing something and ask “Ut er doing?”  To which he would answer whatever it was he was doing then the conversation went like this:

Lala: “Why?”

Guy: explanation

Lala: “Why?

Guy: explanation

Lala: “Why”

Guy: frustrated explanation

Lala: maybe another “Why?”  or maybe “You’re silly!”  might have come out of her mouth.

She was always fun and precocious and had/has the best laugh.  Frankly, like all our older nieces and nephews, she was like a great toy that we just loved to played with.  See?

photo by my mom (Summer 1986)

This Saturday she starts a new adventure which I know she’ll jump into gracefully and with much practicality, because that is just how she is and we love her for it! Enjoy her blog here as she counts down i(n a really funny way) to the big wedding.





8 responses

  1. I can’t believe how much Chunk #2 looks like you in that top picture. CUTE!

    January 12, 2011 at 2:46 pm

  2. Mike

    Sweet glasses.

    January 12, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    • mamacheetah

      I knew you would appreciate those. They are way bigger than any you ever had, I’m sure.

      January 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm

  3. Awh ,that is a sweet relationship.

    January 12, 2011 at 5:21 pm

  4. Amy

    I thought that was your neice Jackie when I first looked at the picture!

    January 12, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  5. chelsea

    Your glasses remind me of you moving them up and down on the rocking chair:)
    Wonderful post!

    January 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

  6. That was all well and sweet…but your slideshow definitely needed some bragging rights on that hair and glasses in the first photo.

    Soooo sweet and 80’s.

    January 21, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    • mamacheetah

      Thank you, Mrs. Olsen. I wouldn’t be who I am today without those fashion choices.

      January 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

