“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

I’m up to my ears in megabytes! Ok, not really. I don’t know what the even would mean. Megabytes elude me.

Do you ever feel like all this “easy to reach”  “at your finger tips”  “make life easier” technology actually takes up more of your time?  Burn this.  Upload that.  Transfer.  Wait for the rainbow thingy on your computer and…….done!  So easy but so fragile and hard to keep track of.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love it, appreciate it, and don’t want to get rid of it.  Maybe it’s just that there is so much of it.  The easiness just invites more, more, MORE!  It gets all unorganized in my brain and on our hard drives.

I remember when I used to set up a picture, I would bust out my external light meter, choose my F stop, my shutter speed and then go for just a few shots before I adjusted the shutter or F stop a couple more times.  Then, when I’d work in the dark room to “fix” my photos, it was a long, tedious process, but so rewarding when you got something good out of it. Now, if the shot doesn’t work out, I know I can take another and another and, if the outcome isn’t what I want, I’ll just “fix” it on my computer.   (That’s right, I just took the “Back in my day…” route.  If you want to read that second paragraph with an old lady’s voice, you might enjoy this post more).

Tonight I finally dumped all the photos I’ve taken for the past 10 months onto our computer. I never thought I’d fill this card that my hubby got me. I thought it was ginormous (speaking megabyte-ly, not physically). It was ginormous, I think there were 1100 photos on there. Time to whittle, time to catch up (and I know what some of you are thinking – no wonder you’ve been such a lousy blogger).

This blurry shot is one of my favorites (ok, obviously the computer can’t “fix” EVERYTHING…and I’ll add that I didn’t touch up this photo at all.  The light is what it is…not usually the norm for me).

This campground on a beach near San Diego is one of my favorite places to be. This was October 2010. Don’t you want to follow Chunk #2 on your own scooter into that sunset?

Photo taken by La

Leave a Reply

