“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Looking back #2

On March of this year we went to San Diego (yes, I am playing serious catch-up on this Rad blog). We went with a home school group to Sea World, and no, we weren’t home schooling back then but I believe in not letting school get in the way of my children’s education (thanks Mark Twain). My incredible niece, let’s call her “Chuck”, allowed us to stay with her and her hubby and then she accompanied us to Sea World.

Touching this starfish was a big accomplishment (Chunk #1 would have nothing to do with it)


Chunk #2 gave this Dolphin the endearing name of  “Dolphy”.  Later, after she was splashed, she felt differently.


At the temple

Ain’t she great?


The next day we did our usual trip to the Mormon Battalion




After this I went looking for the IKEA.  I thought for sure I could remember where it was.  I couldn’t.  After passing the zoo twice, the historic district and a certain mall five times, I gave up.  The Chunks were patient but very tired so I headed for La Jolla and we found-

The. Best. Tide-pool. Beach. Ever.

It was a Thursday afternoon.  No one was around.  This was OUR beach (for about an hour anyway). It was one of those perfect moments in my life.

Chunk #1, you told me that your favorite part of this beach was seeing the little crabs and seashells and sea anemones.
Chunk #2, your favorite memory of this beach was touching the sea anemones that were covered in sea shells.

2 responses

  1. I am glad you’re playing catch up instead of just skipping it, which is what lazy people like me do. But if you’d done that, I wouldn’t have had the chance to see these beautiful photos.

    That would be a darn shame.

    November 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm

  2. These are great pics. My abuelos lived close to La Jolla and when we’d visit we’d always go there. As I recall, we used to feed bread to like a butt load of pigeons. People did that in the 80’s–now, not so much. Your pics made me both happy and miss them (my grandparents, not the pigeons). I think it is awesome that you guys have this family tradition to go to S.D. I’d love to meet you there someday.

    November 15, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

