“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Looking back #3

Last May we went to check out some birds at the Springs Preserve. As you can see, it was a thrilling event.

I liked it because I finally got to see what a falconer does. We also saw some ginormous owls. I can’t remember everything about the bird show but I’m bringing up this memory because of these little baby Bald Eagles.

Not only did we get a close-up view, but we had a chance to pet these little guys. Cute aren’t they?  Sweet.  Adorable.  Innocent.  One might even forget that they grow up to be keen-eyed, noble, predators. 

Maybe it’s that her fingers are about the size of a juicy worm (although, I’m aware that’s not what Bald Eagles feed their babies), maybe it’s that the baby Bald Eagle was protecting his sibling, but poor Chunk #1 got a nipped by the middle guy  while petting the green-headed one.  Suddenly these little featherless balls weren’t so cute anymore.

She was brave, she held in those tears until we walked away from the crowd.  But when the time was right . . . well . . . you know.

****Post Edit: Ok, so  I was curious what baby bald eagles eat.  I googled it and discovered that sometimes, in a nest, the older eaglet (especially if she is female) will kill the younger eaglet. The parents just look on and don’t stop it.  I would say Chunk #2 was lucky wouldn’t you?

One response

  1. Wendy

    I am appalled at your post-edit. And the pic of Chunk #2 makes my eyes tear in sympathy. Poor thing. This is one of many reasons I dislike birds–

    November 21, 2011 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

