“Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Yo, Yo…”

Archive for March 21, 2010

On this day….

Print by Dekanimal on etsy.com

On March 21st, 1976, my mother had nine children. Before she left to have her tenth on that Sunday evening, she made dinner. My dad took her to the Women’s Hospital, then located on East Sahara in Las Vegas. Her hospital bill was $185.00. That was without insurance.

Out of all the 10 births in our family, mine was the only one my dad attended.  Those were the days of men sitting in the waiting room, but Dr. Christofferson insisted that my father be at this one, the last one.  My mom said that Daddy looked at her differently after that experience.

Born at 8:46 pm, I was a fat one – 9 lbs 5 oz – 23 inches long – and my head was 14 and quarter inches.  (I need to compare that to my children cause I’m pretty sure their noggins were much bigger.)

My mom was grateful when we got home because I slept and slept and slept.

I love my huge family.  I’m so glad to have grown up with them … and to keep growing up with them.  Last year was a good one, and I look forward to the next.

See my sweet hubby’s birthday wishes to me….except ignore the fact that he calls me snookums….he never calls me snookums…..